1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A few Dvd Movie backup questions?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Melissa25, Dec 26, 2002.

1. Melissa25

Melissa25 Member

Ok go easy on me cuzz I'm really new to this and not very up to date on the how to make backups.

About 2 years ago I got my husband a CD Writer to make back ups for his gross collection of computer games and storage and he's been happy with it ever since.

Now just last week our 3-year old tried to feed part of our Lord of the Rings boxed set to the dog so I figured now would be the perfect time to get him a DVD Writer so he could back up his Dvd Movies as well.

I've done a bunch of research on the web and this site(which is very good! :)) and one the things I'm having trouble understanding is the differences in size of Dvd Movies.

I assumed that if a movie is under 4.3GB you can put it on a single 4.7GB Dvd-R or Dvd+R(I was planning on getting him a Sony DRU-500A so either one i guess) and have no problems. But then you have movies that are longer or have extras that go over 4.3GB and at this point people keep talking about cutting out menu's and extra's to fit them on that single 4.7GB DVD. But what I don't understand is why you just can't get a blank DVD that is the same size as the Dvd Movie you want to back up? If one of your Dvd's is 2 discs or a double sided disc why not just back it up on 2 discs or a double sided disc?

I was under the impression that they only made DVD's in 2 sizes 4.7BG(Dvd-5?) and the 9+GB(Dvd-9?) that are just double sided versions of the Dvd-5. And thus that would mean that any movie you buy that is over 4.3GB(or 4.7+GB?) is going to be either on a double sided DVD(Dvd-9) or split into more then one DVD and in which case if you wanted to keep it fully intact when you back it up you would have to use a (Dvd-9) or 2 Dvd-5's just like the manufacturer did.