1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a few questions before i swap to a mac

Discussion in 'Mac - General discussion' started by stephen02, Nov 24, 2007.

1. stephen02

stephen02 Guest

hi there, im quite new to the internt and computers, and my windows pc keeps dying and i like the mac, my friend told me this forum should be able to answer all my questions as he has been helped before. So ill just write them all and if you could help me i would greatly appreciate it.

1. Is there software to convert my videos for ps3,i think it uses mp4 files.
    2. What software is avalible for burning data disks
    3. What software is avalible for encoding and burning dvd's
    4. Is there any software for decrypring dvds
    5. Are there any bit torrent packages avalible.
    6. How would i unzip or unrar files.
    7. How would i burn iso's
    8. Will i have to worry about virus's and spyware?
    10. what video editing software is there?
    11. Will avi files and divx work
    12. And last buy not least, what are the advantages of having a mac?

Thank you for your time, and im sorry for all the spelling mistakes.

2. david456

david456 Regular member

Hello, stephen02:

1. HandBrake, VisualHub
    2. Mac OS X's burn folders, Toast, DragonBurn
    3. DVD2oneX2, Toast
    4. MacTheRipper
    5. Azureus, Transmission
    6. built-in Mac OS X utility, Stuffit Expander, UnRarX
    7. Mac OS X's Disk Utility
    8. No
    9. -
    10. iMovie, Final Cut
    11. Yes (QuickTime, VLC)
    12. Answers will vary.

Cheers

Last edited: Nov 24, 2007
  3. stephen02

stephen02 Guest

thanks for your help, really concidering changing

4. stephen02

stephen02 Guest

em sorry about the missing number, i tryed it but hadent noticed i wasnt on the page, hadnt clikced the mouse, anyway i missed 1 question