1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a first timer trying to burn avi/mpeg to dvd

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by 2new4u, Apr 28, 2005.

1. 2new4u

2new4u Member

I am a true newbie. I'm sure the info I need is out here, I just don't know where. I downloaded movies that are .avi/.mpeg. I just want to put them on a dvd to play on my tv instead of watching on my puter. I just got my samsung dvd burner, and have many of the programs listed on this site, but don't know where to start. I have never burned a dvd before. I am computer literate but dvd burning dumb...lol Can someone point me in the right direction? This all seems complicated. Easiest is best for me! I also don't know if I need dvd- or + for best results, my burner does all media, even dual layer...which I think I need to learn the basics first. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. dvdripdvd

dvdripdvd Regular member

Click on the link on my sig. It should take you to bbmayo's site. Click the avi to dvd link and follow the instructions.

3. 2new4u

2new4u Member

Oh, I forgot. I can't use dvd santa...unless there is a version that is not xp. I have xp on my laptop but no burner there! My home computer, my os is me. I have sony media.

4. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

Divxtodvd is a good first time app to use and its free! but dont let free put you off its very good and simple! you can load multiple avi or mpeg to it and it will output vob/ifo/bup for burning

use say nero app and click ADD-Video tab and place all files in the folder nero makes called VIDEO_TS and burn...

done

most i would guess use dvd-r for best comaptibility... and buy decent discs!!!! like tiyo yuden (not sure on spelling?) and ritek or verbitim (sorry my spelling sucks...)

5. 2new4u

2new4u Member