1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a n00bish question, is there a way to chip the psp

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by luismjr1, Feb 9, 2008.

1. luismjr1

luismjr1 Member

sorry if this question seems to nooby, but i JUST got my psp and i dont nothing about modding my psp to run backups, is there a way of doing that without downgrading the firmware and all that??? THX in advance

2. cored2

cored2 Member

I believe you have to install cfw to play backups. I am not sure if you modchip the psp though. Install cfw by getting pandora battery, even if you brick your psp the pandora battery will help unbrick your psp.

3. luismjr1

luismjr1 Member

u see, i am a noob, lol, whats that cw something, and whats bricking and unbricking the psp? not to mention whats that pandora battery and what does it does??? please help me, dont ignore me please, i really need help

4. qwertydud

qwertydud Member

pandoras battery is a method to unbrick/downgrade ur psp.
    all psp's start with an offical firmware, security updates from sony.
    Cusom Firmwares are what the name is, custom firmwares that enable you to play backups from the memory stick
    bricking the psp happens when you do screwy updates to the firmware or something. the term is BRICKED because your psp is then as useful as a brick. hope that somewhat helps

5. bu22ard

bu22ard Regular member

there are a few modchips out there for psp

Undiluted Platinum
    Devolution

more...?

although installing cfw is a great deal easier and cheaper :) now that we have Pandora, unbricking is so easy

6. PSPgamen

PSPgamen Regular member

Undiluted Platinum is 60 $ so, there's no deal of buying it. Better buy a DATEL Tool Battery and downgrade your PSP.

7. cored2

cored2 Member