1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A question about flashing

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by Ridler616, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. Ridler616

    Ridler616 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, guys! I'm VERY new at flashing consoles, so please help me out a bit. All the tutorials I read are either extremely confusing or extremely impractical. So, here's the deal - after the latest 360 update all my backups stopped working, so I decided to reflash (for the first time, last time it was done by a friend). I got the 360 disassembled with no problem... and now what? I read something about hardware I need to purchase (Xecutor and SATA cable). I can probably get my hands on a SATA, but a Xecutor is out of the question, so can I just flash with that? And can you recommend me some tutorials that explain with simple words (and possibly with pictures) exactly how to flash to 1.9? Thanks a bunch!
     
  2. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    IF you are too cheap to buy the equipment then you'll never get it flashed plain and simple. From your post, I can see you didn't read anything. Go back to the stickies and read.
     
  3. Ridler616

    Ridler616 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, of course I'm cheap - I live in a country where shipping such a thing not only will double (or triple) the price, but it'll also take a month (and I need the Xbox to practice for a tournament in early August). It's not so much that I don't want the equipment, it's that I really can't afford it.

    And yes, I did read a few tutorials, but most of them already start with the drive hooked up to the PC and deal with the software stuff, and the ones that do show how to do it either don't have pictures or include Xecutor or some other device I can't get.
     
  4. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Do you have a SATA port in your PC? Power your drive using the Xbox 360 and connect the drive with one of your SATA ports in your PC. No extra hardware needed.
     
  5. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Not necessarily true. His SATA might not be compatible. He may need a VIA6421.
     
  6. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Worth a shot though, most SATA ports nowadays are compatible to an up to date Jungleflasher.
     
  7. Ridler616

    Ridler616 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright, I went out and bought a SATA cable. Right now, the Xbox is hooked to the PC... and now what? I tried following the interactive Jungle Flasher tutorial, but I'm kind of stuck, since for some reason the DVD drive doesn't appear on the I/O list, or even if it does, I have no idea where it is. When I click the drop-down I/O menu, 5 things appear (neither of them is the 0x0000 that appears in the tutorial). 3 of them are SATA (which is weird, because I only have 2 SATA ports, but oh well), 1 of them is my primary Master hard drive, and the other two are unknown devices. One of the other two makes all the buttons around it transparent so I can't click them. When I selected the last remaining one and chose Intro/Device ID like in the tutorial, Jungle Flasher just goes into an infinite load. What should I do? I'm 100% certain that both the SATA cable and the SATA output in my PC work, as does (obviously) my DVD drive. I'm running on XP and have .NET framework 2.0 installed.

    EDIT: Oh, and forgot to mention - the DVD drive is plugged into the Xbox for power. Still doesn't work.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011

Share This Page