1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A xbox mod beginner looking for a mentor!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by 2majestic, Nov 29, 2004.

1. 2majestic

2majestic Guest

SOS- i am a beginner in this whole xbox mod thing. I need someone to show me (teach me) how to modify my xbox so that I can download games and dvds onto my xbox hard-drive. One catch is that I have a Mac (OSX). But, I'm a cpu tech. so I do catch on quickly. What is the first thing I need to do? Someone Help!!!!

2. Bohefus

Bohefus Regular member

3. Degallle

Degallle Regular member

That is the best place to start, and even now modding has become so easy that it's so much harder to mess up than it was before so you should be a little careful about what you do and make sure you backup when and where possible to ensure a easy fix in case of mess ups.

Have fun getting into the modding scene,
    Degalle

4. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Can't bold thread titles champ. I fixed it for you :)

5. 2majestic

2majestic Guest

Thanks pimpin'. Do you think it's easier to do the work yourself or order one pre-modified? Because I saw a site that does it for you.

6. Quadratic

Quadratic Regular member

It's much easier to softmod it. Same result occurs, plus you can get everything at a local best buy or game store.

7. 2majestic

2majestic Guest

But I think I'm going to have to buy it because I don't know how to solder at all!

8. Quadratic

Quadratic Regular member

Well, if you want to then go ahead. Softmodding is becoming more popular because mod chips really aren't all special. Remember, it's the BIOS that allows the xbox to read other DVD/CD media besides retail.

9. 2majestic

2majestic Guest

Oh, really?! So then what exactly is BIOS. I've been hearing a lot about this. This is what makes the xbox do dvd's?

10. Quadratic

Quadratic Regular member