1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A7N8X-X Athlon XP 2600 Limit

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by petesanch, Apr 11, 2005.

  1. petesanch

    petesanch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello!
    I'm trying to overclock my computer which has the following specs.
    CPU: AMD 2600+ Athlon XP
    RAM: 768MB PC2700
    MOBO: ASUS A7N8X-X
    GFX: LeadTek Geforce4 A280 LE
    HDs: 120GB 7200rpm
    DVD: DVD+/-
    I only managed to overclock at 1955mhz [11.5*170]. If i try anything higher than 170 FSB, the system does not boot at all and i have to reset the BIOS.
    Temp's at idle 32'C[CPU], 25'C[MB]
    I noticed that some people here have great results with this CPU + MB. Is the RAM limiting the increase in overclocking potential? I don't fully understand all the settings in BIOS, do i need to change something else for better results?

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. E_Pizza

    E_Pizza Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Your processor is whats probably the problem, just because other people can means nothing. You may have a different version of this model such as an OEM model your core of the processor may be different thus giving you not as good results.
     
  3. haimback

    haimback Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @petesanch
    theres a thread on overclocking with hundreds of posts in it, have a read through for info.http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/83263

    @ E_Pizza
    OEM > it's the same thing just not got the fancy packaging.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2005
  4. petesanch

    petesanch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks E_Pizza, Haimback for your responses.
    After doing some more research, I have managed to get great results.
    Now running at 2362MHz [11.5*205] and temp's remain between 30 - 45'C.
    I increased CPU Vcore in bios and swapped my 256DDR with 512DDR stick of RAM.

    Surprisingly though, I thought having 2 512DDR sticks would allow for Dual channel, but I think this MB doesn't support it?

    Anywho thanks again!
     

Share This Page