1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Absolute newbie, Need to know a few things...

Discussion in 'PS2' started by bloodvet, Nov 21, 2003.

1. bloodvet

bloodvet Member

ok, i jsut bought a PS2 used, i unsure which version it is, but i know its serial number starts with U0, its date code is 1A and it has 10 screws on the bottom. Also, once i know what version what is the next step in getting a modchip, if I know its version 2, do i have to find a version 2 modchip, or will one of these universal ones work. Once a modchip is installed, will burnt copies of games run easily or am i expected to have problems loading and running? if you use a slide card or boot disk, do you still need a modchip? does it matter what kind of DVD burner i use to burn these games? i understand theres a DVD+R and a DVD-r, whats the difference? thanks guys.

2. SoCalSRH

SoCalSRH Regular member

- the serial number following u0 can identify which model u have.
    - most no-swap modchips are universal with all ps2 models except for the new version 9 which u don't have to worry about.
    - once the chip is installed (correctly) u shouldn't have any problems playing backups.
    - if u use a slide-card or flip top with swap magic discs u don't need a modchip.
    - it doesn't matter which dvd recordable drive u get... but some older ps2's don't read +r recordables. really no difference between the two just a format chosen by different companies for different recordable drives.
    hope that helps...

3. Icemonkey

Icemonkey Active member