1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Absolute newbie

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by mnbc8djm, Jan 8, 2005.

1. mnbc8djm

mnbc8djm Member

Hey guys i have just dl bit torrent today woo hoo
    Anyway problem is when trying to dl scrubs from a torrent site i get an error, problem connecting to tracker..... connection refused.
    Have no idea what thats about.. have only been able to dl 1 file of scrubs and it saya share rate0.056 with an unhappy face is this a problem? esp as it looks like it will take 4 hours to dl 1 episode of scrubs.

Many thanks for any help and nice to talk to you all for the 1st time
    DamianUK

2. mattF099

mattF099 Member

Welcome to afterdawn.com, its become an addiction for me. Bitorrent is slowly dieing (*tears*). With the fall of the supernova site most other bitorrent trackers fell because of a dependency to the supernova site tracker. That would greatly slow the download because less people would have the file and less trackers would be up. What client are you using for bit torrent? if its azerus the share ratio thing is not a problem "for you" it just means you have downloaded more than you have uploaded. Heres a link to an article on the fall of bitorrent "the bitorrent effect" http://www.afterdawn.com/news/archive/5907.cfm

3. mattF099

mattF099 Member

Actually that article is just a recap of the good times for bitorrent, my memory of that article served me wrong, here is the article i was thinking of, sorry : http://p2pnet.net/story/3482

4. mnbc8djm

mnbc8djm Member

Im using Bit Tornado (i think thats right).
    why is bittorrent dying? surely it will just keep changing sites if it gets shut down?
    Do all the torrent clients work the same or will Bit Tornado only get files from other Tornado users?

Thanks for the post
    DamianUK

5. mattF099

mattF099 Member