1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Acer aspire

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by 1234aaron, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi, i have a acer aspire with 2 partions of the hardisk, one of them is ACER(C:\) and the other is ACERDATA(D:\) and its taking up 4.54gb and its capacity 35.9gb, my question is, can i delete everything on that partion and will it destroy the computer if i do???

    thnx
     
  2. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    dont delete that partition that has windows on it(usually C:\), that will destroy ur computer. You can format the other one, if you want to.
     
  3. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so i can delete acerdata(D:\)
     
  4. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you want to lose the ability to do a recover, then yes.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    unless you have a copy of windows on cd then don't delete d:drive. if want more room then get a bigger hd & clone it
     
  6. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thnx for the advice but the reason i want more space is bacause i want to create a sharing foleder on MSN messenger and it gets an error, microsoft say that i need more space to create one, so i dont want to buy a new hardrive for that but do u know of any ways that i could get msn sharing folders working
     
  7. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    or if it may not be a hardrive space issue do u know what else cauld be causeing it to get an error

    thanks
     
  8. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Did your Acer come with a recovery disk? Or does it have the option to burn a recover disk. If it does then do ahead and burn it to a DVD and TAKE VERY GOOD CARE of it. After you burn your DVD you can go ahead and delete the partition.

    EDIT: Spelling Corrections.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2007
  9. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yep, it does come with a recovery disk and ive used it before to reinstall windows, but i dont want to risk crashing the computer
    or saying on startup theres no OS cuz ive got important files and the DVD drive wont burn DVDs anymore, (which seems to be happening to all acer aspires)
     
  10. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Hmm the DVD drive thing sucks, but you can safely delete the D drive.
    BTW: How many GBs of important files do you have?
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2007
  11. 1234aaron

    1234aaron Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok, thanks
    do u have any idea of how to get a MSN sharing folder working tho,
    if u dont i doesent matter
     
  12. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Sorry, never tried it, but if you want to clear up some space on your HDD try this. You know what I'll send you a PM so go check that.
     

Share This Page