1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Add more ram then allowed?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by dazila, Feb 14, 2007.

  1. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    For eg. An intel D815EFV says only 512mb Pc133 256mb perslot and it has 3 there is one spare if I put 256mb in that one is there a way via windows or bios to make it accept over the limit,
    it suprises me that a mainboard from mid 2001 only lets 512mb while some old Mainboards form 1998 say max 1gb.
    Is there a way for me to do this?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    from intel site.
     
  3. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    So there is no 3rd party Bios or a program that will allow me to add 256mb to the already 512mb and make it run?
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    nope.
     
  5. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Owell but that is kind of crappy considering i got a maniboard the same year and it can do 3gb DDR this only does 512mb SD
     

Share This Page