1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

adding an agp slot

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by fedaykin, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. fedaykin

    fedaykin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello.
    I have a dell dimension 3000 that I want to add a video card to and have learned agp is faster.The problem is there isn't a slot for agp. There are lpc holes there to put one. So, how do I put one there? Can I even do that? Thanks for the help!
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    are you certain that is for an agp slot & also possibility not all circuitry is there even if able to put connector in
     
  3. fedaykin

    fedaykin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I did a "PC Wizard" scan on my comp. and it says I have 1 AGP connector, but it isnt enabled. Ive heard I can enable it throught the bios. Can I add an AGP since it is showing one is there ??
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    are you certain the motherboard does not have an agp slot as the slot is usually close to cpu & is same length or longer than pci slot
     
  5. fedaykin

    fedaykin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes I am sure the slot is not there. I am sure there is a place to put one though. I just need to know what the process is to put one there now.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    1: try & get an agp connector that will fit your board.
    2: remove board so as to be able to desolder all the holes if filled with solder were connector goes.
    3: solder connector to motherboard & reinstall motherboard in case.
    4: use an old working agp card to see if video comes up on screen as i said earlier some of the circuitry might not been installed onto motherboard
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can you get a picture of your board showing location of possible agp
     
  8. fedaykin

    fedaykin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes I will get a picture of the mobo to show you. I did a ram upgrade today, while in the bios it had an agp selection where you could change it to 256,128 etc. I dont know if that matters or not.. but its a little info till I get a picture.
     
  9. stonecld

    stonecld Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Lol forget trying to soldier an agp on the board looks like your only bet with that board is to buy the best pci card you can get try new egg or price watch good luck !
     
  10. fedaykin

    fedaykin Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I went to Dell.com and read their forums. You're right, there's no way to put one on.. But I'm going to try the PCI route I guess.
     

Share This Page