1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adding to an already recorded disc.

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by MurphyRR, May 30, 2004.

1. MurphyRR

MurphyRR Member

I am new to this DVD burning thing, so any help would be appreciated. 1) I already burnt one of my kids Thomas the Tank Engine movies as a back up, and am wondering, how do I find out if there is room on the disc for another movie? 2) If there is, how do I burn the other movie without ruining what is already on the disc?
    Thanks for the help.

2. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Sorry, you can't do that with a DVD.
    Any "compilation" must be created in your computer first and then burned onto your blank media. One time burn only.

3. MurphyRR

MurphyRR Member

Great, thanks for the info. Now, how do I create that compilation? I'm using Nero 6.0.

4. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Are you using DVD Shrink? I know you have Nero so I assume you have Recode 2 as well. This gives you at least two options.
    Lets use the Shrink option to compile a couple of main movie titles. Doing this with Recode would be very similar.

Insert your first disc and open Shrink, let it analyze.
    Select re-author, double click the main movie to put it in the DVD compilation window on the left.
    Click on the Compression Settings tab on the right and now you can remove unwanted sub-pictures and audio tracks.

Use the preview window to listen to the various audio tracks by starting the preview and right clicking in the preview window area.
    When you move your pointer over the audio menu selection, a list will come up. That list is the available audio on the selected title. A green check mark indicates which one is being previewed. By clicking on the different tracks on the list you can select the correct audio.
    Just tick the box under Audio in the right window that corresponds to the track you selected while previewing. Untick the rest.