1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

adjusting setting to make computer faster.....

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by hayden58, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what programs can be turned off at startup, or what features of xp can be adjusted to make my computer work faster?

    here are the specs
    dell inspiron 6000 laptop
    1.33hz celeron
    256mb RAM
    40GB HDD


    i use it mostly for DLing music, dvd burning. itunes.

    i turned off a couple thing through msconfig, but didnt dare to do very much, didnt know what some things are. what else can be done?
    just little "fixes" or things that are unneeded that use up RAM.?
     
  2. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    it would be better if you gave us the list of what you have that kicks on at startup.

    no matter what, your laptop isn't going to get much faster. that's a slow cpu and small amount of ram your working with. i'm also betting the hard drive is 5400 rpm, not 7200.
     
  3. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    OK HERES THE LIST:


    RUNNING:
    apoint
    igfxtray
    hkcmd
    jusched
    ifrmewrk
    PCMService
    ISUSPM
    issch
    li
    lich
    ccApp
    SNDMon
    tfswctrl
    NeroCheck <<<ibet i can turn that off?
    msmsgs <<<that too?
    ctfmon
    NMBgMonitor
    Digital Line Detect
    Stardock Objectdock

    items i turned off already
    DVDLauncher
    ITunesHelper
    qttask
    Realplay
    YahooMessenger
    AutoCADStartup
    Quickbooks Update
     
  4. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i'm not familiar with much of what you are runnings, but msmsgs should definitely be turned off.
     
  5. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    THANKS, anyone else know what adjustsments can be made? or what if any XP features can be adjusted to run things quicker?
     
  6. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    again, it's not going to run much quicker. your far better off saving up and buying a new machine.
     
  7. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    here the complete pain of the computer industy. this computer is 1 year old, yes 1 year. granted it was on the very cheap end of things a year ago, but still it is 1 year old. just trying to keep everything running as lean as possible. do you know if there is the ability to add a second 256 chip? are there 2 spots for ram on these laptops? and where would i find out?
     
  8. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    there's a panel over the ram slots on the bottom. unscrew, open, and find out.
     
  9. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sweet, ill do that right now.
     
  10. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you must be as bored as me with your quick replies....you have any instant messenger services to chat on?
     
  11. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    not bored, but holed in sick in my dorm. and no.
     
  12. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sick? oh man stay away from me. lol.....would a second 256 RAM chip make this computer noticably faster? (its not deathly slow by the way) that would give me 256x2 for 512. (im checking the inside right now.)
     
  13. gtjr_ph

    gtjr_ph Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    find something at the back you can open so that you will see this
    [​IMG]
     
  14. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes i opened it up.......a stick or RAM in one side and one side with an empty slot that says DIMM-B use DDR2 only.

    what specifics do i need to know to buy more? other than ddr2? and on an older computer it worked with a 64md chip and a 256 chip for a combined 320 ram, would this work that way? or do both chips have to be equal? i remember it was older ram either PC100 or PC133 at the time.

    2nd edit:

    would either of the first two work?
    http://www.pricewatch.com/notebook_memory/inspiron_6000.htm
    might be a well spent $18.00.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  15. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    This is what should be unchecked at start up


    NeroCheck
    msmsgs
    ctfmon
    Digital Line Detect
    Stardock Objectdock <--- this will kill your start up time!

    Good luck!
     
  16. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what are ctfmon
    and digital line detect?
    i figured objectdock was a RAM sucker.
     
  17. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    An extra stick will help a little considering xp takes a min of 256 to run ,the biggest amount of speed loss would be a slow hdd,apart from the usual maintenance of registry cleaning and defrag.TechRepublic have numerous registry tweak articles you can download as pdf's if that's any help, you can also go into the windows file and compress the "servicepackfile folder",there's also an article where you can safley delete the uninstallers for the microsoft security updates ,basicly it saves disk space,i've done it with no adverse effects

    these registry keys below can be safley deleted as all can be manually restarted by the program files icons
    jusched=java updater
    qttask=quick time player
    ituneshelper=self explanatory
    realplay=real player
    quick books updater = if the app has the update function like most software then you can manually update,just don't forget to check periodically...lol ,you can also shut down windows auto update and do it manually

    objectdock= use the configuration and untick "load at windows startup"

    In control panel use the dispaly config to change appearance of windows from xp to classic view as skinning the task bar etc slows xp down at startup

    OK the link below should get you some software that will tell you what process is running and what it does in task manager ,some of the recommendations say don't stop but it depends which app it belongs to since most can be started manually when needed except for dvd tray etc

    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,62794-order,1-page,1-c,alldownloads/description.html
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  18. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so you dont think going from 256 to 512 will be that noticeable? it is possible to run a 256 chip and a 512 chip together? like in teh older types of rAM?
     
  19. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Firtsly you can't install 512 then 256 if the comp does'nt support it,best go for dual channel with 2 sticks of 256 or if supported 2 sticks of 512 ram and preferably the same make

    will it speed it up noticably...welllllll sort of,lets say you have just installed xp with only a few other apps then yes you will notice a speed diff,but the more apps you add then more ram gets diverted as at startup the comp attempts to start everything at once

    Going by what i did with my desktop pc ,i found dumping the 40GB hdd 5400rpm and getting a much larger faster hdd 7200rpm plus 1GB ram made a massive difference,changing the original amount of ram from 256 to 512 was ok but it eventually slowed back to normal when i installed more apps untill the next upgrade but the ram alone won't be any good if the hdd is'nt up to speed,tho for a laptop the hdd's are smaller in size anyway so adding the ram to 512 total could make a noticable diff,by the way i upgraded again from 512 to 1GB before i got the faster hdd,before then it's speed was'nt spectacular,but ram and faster hdd togeather will make a huge noticable diff,
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  20. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That is your Built In INtel Graphic Card Drivers.

    Also what mainaboard is it use CPUz to find out. search it on google.
    256mb and 512mb would wokr but better using 2 same kinds like 512mb,512mb.
     

Share This Page