1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on pc upgrade

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by andsteele, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello all, I built a pc a few months ago, the specs are:

    AMD Athlon X2 3800+
    1gb ram (2x512)
    Nvidia Geforce FX 5500 (256mg AGP)

    I feel my pc could perform better, especially on games. So what I want to know is, should I double my ram, or get a better graphics card? Which would I see the most improvement with? Thanks in advance for your advice.

    Andrew
     
  2. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    if you're going for a new graphics card, you want a PCI-E card, as that's replaced AGP.

    however, that would mean a new motherboard for you.

    so, ram will help you all around (go 2 gigs or so), but for twice the price (or so), pretty much *only* your game performance would improve, but it would improve drastically. your call.

    my recommendation is motherboard first, so you're up to par. the more ram when you save up for it.
     
  3. K_Mitnick

    K_Mitnick Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Auslander's right, you'd be best off getting a newer motherboard (one that's PCI-E enabled, and can use SATA II and DDR2 if this one doesn't have those abilities), and then getting some DDR2 RAM (preferably 2 GB or more), and THEN get a new Videocard.

    OR, you could indeed just update to 2 Gb's of RAM, but i'd switch to two 1GB sticks, and take out those two 512MB sticks.
    In the end, switching out the motherboard to have more upgrade possibilities would be the best choice for the long run, but it would help your current problem much, so the choice really is up to you.
     
  4. johnnyd54

    johnnyd54 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just curious but what motherboard could he have that would take an and 3800+ am2 that would have an agp. I thought all the newer ones would have pci-e or am I missing something?
     
  5. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    we're waiting to find out. might be a slim chance of a transition board, with both pci-e and agp; in that case, graphics card, then ram.
     
  6. REAM

    REAM Guest

    if ur upping your grphix then its time for a psu upgrade aswell
     
  7. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    please don't post with text speak. it annoys a lot of members, ream.

    and the computer is custom built. it might already have a 550 watt psu; we don't have enough information to say that's a must, yet.
     
  8. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My motherbored has pci-e, i had an agp graphics card I got cheap so i put that in as I have an agp slot too. It also has sata and takes ddr2 if that helps. Thanks for your help.
     
  9. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh, I was trying to find my motherbored online but I can't find it anyware. Its an Asrock but I don't have the box so I don't know what model. But here is a picture!

     
  10. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    my vote goes to new graphics card now, and double your ram soon.
     
  11. Zeyf414

    Zeyf414 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That link is not working. Can you link to a site like NewEgg so we can see for ourselves?
     
  12. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    picture here

    don't post the actual image on this thread, it's too large.

    *edit*
    i only see an agp slot and four pci slots on that motherboard. are you sure it's got a pci-e slot, too?
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2007
  13. andsteele

    andsteele Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yep, definatly. It even says so on the motherbored (not pictured)
     

Share This Page