1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adwcleaner has removed all passwords

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by bauld1, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi everyone,
    I ran adwcleaner and lost all passwords,chrome etc Is there any way to re install to before I ran adwcleaner,or a way to retrieve lost data. Also puter is running as fast as a dog with 1 leg.
    Any help would be appreciated
    Thanks in advance
    bauld1(previously bauld)
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,690
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    what passwords are you talking about, for windows or for the net?
  4. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    CCleaner will do the same thing remove the passwords you entered unless you uncheck the box for it not to.I just re-enter the passwords for my e-mail or whatever.
  5. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi ddp and JST1946,
    I cannot get into chrome,I had to re join afterdawn and laptop is now running very slow.
    I tried to re install chrome and now my gmail accounts password has changed.I just wondered if there was a way to go back so the settings/passwords would magically re appear or am I now stuck with my error.I stupidly never unchecked any boxes.
    Many thanks for your replies.
    ps dpp apologies for double post,I clicked again because it was not reponding
    cheers
    bauld1
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,690
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    try a system restore to before this started happening.
  7. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi dpp,
    Just done system restore,desktop back to what it was,but still have problem with chrome and laptop still running slow.Will do an avast and super anti spyware scans and see if that will speed up comp.Should I try and find another thread for chrome problems as I did change passwords and it's not a virus problem ? maybe theres another way to restore it.
    Again many thanks for your help.
    Cheers
    bauld1
  8. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    adwcleaner doesn't remove passwords.. can you go back further with system restore?
  9. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    bauld1, did you mean "ATF" cleaner? it DOES have a password cleaner in it.
  10. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi 2oG,
    It was AdwCleaner I ran.I will run another restore further back and see what happens,the restore I did was 2 days before problems.I thought chrome had crashed that's why I messed around and changed passwords,I have to log in to chrome now and its not rnning as it was,I had to reset Afterdawn account aswell.Ran Avast and superspyware all that came back was adaware cookies,comp still running very slow.
    Many thanks I'll let you know after another system restore
    Take care
    bauld1
  11. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi 2oG,
    System restore found a problem with windows install and did a fix,no passwords restored.
    Comp still running very slow,IE not responding coming up several times and losing internet.(nearly 3 hrs to get onto this thread to reply)
    When I ran Adwcleaner from desktop it came up in french(update?),I never updated I went to page where you helped before and downloaded and ran adwcleaner from there,maybe that's caused the problems?Or a virus?.Many thanks again for your help and any ideas.
    Cheers
    bauld1
    PS I get adverts blocking the preview/reply buttons never noticed that happening before
  12. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    bauld1, You might have a virus or bad guy but. first:
    goto Start -> computer -> click one time on your os disk (C) then right click and click properties then click the Tools tab and click "check now" under Error-checking then put a check mark in the box "Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors" then click "Start".

    You will now have to re-boot for it to run. Restart and let it Check the Disk then we will go from there....

    2oG
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,690
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    bauld1, is that adverting problem on this site or other sites?
  14. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    sounds like a Trojan that's pulling in all kinds of crap - may need to run a boot disk like avira rescue. made on another computer..
  15. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @bauld1

    You probably can't run CHKDSK so it may be best to try to clean up enough first to be able run some more cleaning programs.

    download this tutorial on a computer that's working and burn the recovery disk to use on this infected one:

    https://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=82163

    follow the instructions.

    2oG
  16. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi dpp and 2oG,
    dpp Re advert, only noticed it on here last night and today,(not been on many other sites as comp is so slow)I had to copy page back, and paste last reply as advert (groupon)was covering the preview/reply buttons at bottom of reply box.Advert free and easy undelete for windows is in main box now ,not covering preview/reply buttons.
    2oG going to do what you asked shortly.Thanks to you both for your help

    2oG I ran super antispyware last week and a Trojan.Gen was found along with adware cookies.
    Thanks again
    Cheers
    bauld1
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013
  17. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just run the Avara Rescue Disk per instructions and NOTHING ELSE!

    I'll then tell you what to do to finish cleaning, speed up and block malware!

    look forward to hearing from you....

    2oG
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,690
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    the ad covering the reply in this site i have seen a number of times here.
  19. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    ddp, I don't have a pre-view button on my reply box. Where it go?
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,690
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    what does it show in that corner besides the "reply" button?
  21. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi 2oG,
    Hope all is well.I ran Avira as asked can't find report of scan (any ideas where it went),but I did write down results,just in case I messed up lol.

    ALERT:[APPL/KillApp.A]/media/Devices/sdal/HP/BIN/End Process.exe<<<Contains signature of the application APPL/KillApp.A[renamed]

    WARNING:[Archive is invalid or corrupt]/media/Devices/sdal/ProgramFiles/WinRAR/rarnew.dat

    WARNING:[Unsupported archive version]/media/Devices/sdal/SwSetup/AOLIMS/Vwpt.exe

    WARNING:[Bad Compressed data]/media/Devices/sdal/Users/Downloads/Unconfirmed 367639.crdownload

    ALERT:[JS/Pornpop.C]media/Devices/sdal/Users/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/Temporary Internet Files/Low/Content.IE5/2WFCVBIO/fpc3[1].js<<<Contains signature of the Javascript virus JS/Pornpop.C[renamed]

    ALERT:[EXP/Pidief.adk]/media/Devices/sdal/Users/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/TemporaryInternet files/Low/Content.IE5/XM2SSZH7/e65a3[1].pdf<<<Contains signature of the exploits EXP/Pidief.adk[renamed]

    WARNING:[Bad Compressed Data]/media/Devices/sdal/Users/AppData/Roaming/SUPERAntiSpyware.com/SUPERAntiSpyware/Quarantine/quarantine.db

    ALERT:[APPL/KillApp.A]/media/Devices/sda2/preload/BASE.WIM--->1<<<Contains signature of the application APPL/KillApp.A[archive scan abort]
    Stats
    Directories...38045
    archives......3876
    Files.........606070
    Infected......4
    Renamed.......4
    Warnings......4
    Suspicious....0
    Infections....4

Share This Page