1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adwcleaner has removed all passwords

Discussion in 'Windows - Virus and spyware problems' started by bauld1, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi 2oG,
    F2 start up - checks memory ,then starts to do a disk check, I cancelled the process ,not sure what it would do.
    F9 Boot manager- Boot Option menu
    TSST corp CDDVDW TS-L632H - ATAPI
    WDC WD1600 BEVS - 6 ORSTO - 160.GB
    ENTER to select option.
    Looking around the forums and internet it looks like I should have made a restore disk for vista.Still trying to find a site that I can get a Windows or vista download,to see if I can make a disk and see if that would override the problem.Saw a couple of sites but unsure of their safety or if any good.
    If you have any ideas you can let me know.
    Many thanks
    Cheers
    bauld1
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Not a good idea, you can't download a legal copy of Windows or Vista and the bootleg copy you may be able to get will be full of Trojans, malware and such....... also illegal!

    You didn't tell me, Can you still boot into Windows???

    2oG
     
  4. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi 2oG,
    No can't get windows.Turn on laptop -
    Compaq
    <esc>enable stert up menu
    f1sytem info
    f2 startup check
    f9change boot device order
    f10BIOS setup options
    f11 startup recovery
    Then screen come up BOOTMGR is missing
    Cheersw
    bauld1
     
  5. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    can you get into safe mode and if so, does it have the option to "repair the computer"?

    try that
     
  6. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi 2oG,
    No can't get into safe mode either,I'll go get that hammer lol.
    Cheers
    bauld1
     
  7. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gee, bauld1, I really am at a loss to advise you what to do. I can sympathize but other than that....???

    This is a situation that is always coming up when someone doesn't have a good backup.
    I always recommend using an imaging program to backup your computer. There are free ones that work extremely well.

    The first 3 rules for using a computer are:
    rule 1: Backup
    rule 2: Backup
    rule 3: Backup

    If you can't find a friend with an install disk and you must buy one, go for Windows 7. Much better than Vista and think hard about getting a larger HD, at least 300GB.

    2oG
     
  8. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Have you tried booting a Linux live CD to access the drive and potentially pull some data off it that way? It probably wouldn't be very fruitful but there you go.

    NB: I have skimmed this thread very briefly, I'm assuming what you're now trying to achieve is data retrieval before you completely ditch your current install and/or upgrade your HDD?
     
  9. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    @ripper

    I believe the trojan got in and screwed up any hopes. His restore sector was bad and probably wrote over his data by formatting the HD and then couldn't continue. bad bidness all the way.

    2oG
     
  10. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yep that figures. Looks like a really nasty one tbh.

    If you're wanting to give it a shot regardless, I seem to recall PuppyLinux is good at handling stubbornness and ignoring disc errors. But yeah, can't expect it to work really.
     
  11. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I had one of these or this Trojan last month and thought I had lost everything..
    It came in on Java and screwed up my operating system where I could do nothing.
    Thought I was OK because I have Acronis True Image that makes a backup image everyday.
    It also screwed up my Acronis so that I could not recover a backup.
    Lucky for me I had made a Acronis Boot Disk that loaded in RAM and was able to recover my backup..

    2oG
     
  12. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi 2oG and Ripper,
    I'll see if I can get a hold of a disk to reinstall,I'll give you a shout soon,
    thanks for all your help,take care.
    Cheers
    bauld1
    ps would it be worthwhile trying Puppylinux?
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013
  13. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You might give it a try.. I've never used it but have used Ubuntu for a short while.

    2oG
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,749
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    98
    bauld1, what computer are you posting on as in desktop or laptop & what windows?
     
  15. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi ddp,
    Computer I am using is an Acer desktop,running
    Windows Vista Home Premium Version 6(Build 600:Service pack 1)
    Excuse my stupidity,if I create a disk on this will it be the right one for the Laptop.
    Cheers
    bauld1
     
  16. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi ddp,
    Can't find any disk for this comp,tried a search in the comp,Recovery Manager/Disc creation nothing comes up.
    Cheers
    bauld1
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,749
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    98
    what is the make & model# of the hp computer & the acer so can see what the chipsets on both are so that maybe the acer disks can be used on the hp?
     
  18. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi everyone
    Sorry for late reply(family been sick)Friend of a friend said they had a disk,I'll let you know what happens.Many thanks,take care.
    Cheers
    bauld1
     
  19. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    keep us informed.
    2oG
     
  20. bauld1

    bauld1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi All,
    Yay laptop up and running.Again thanks for all the help.Running Windows Vista Ultimate.
    Opera ? CCCleaner and Adobe Reader X installed.
    Now its clean what's the best anti virus,spyware etc to install to keep it clean(I'll need to put a lock on,to keep the wife off the bad sites,lol).Again many thanks for your,time,patience and help.Take care.
    Cheers
    bauld1
     
  21. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    My wife's in the hospital and I'll be there long time but will lay some things out for you later tonight.

    I figured out what it was that got you and hope I can help anyone else that gets it to be able to save their OS...

    catch U later
    2oG
     

Share This Page