1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

After removing unwanted material.........

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by klemperal, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Using either Vobblanker or clone2DVD my stand alone DVD player just seems to replace what I removed with a black screen while it sounds as though my DVD player is struggling for it's life. That is to say that while previews that would usually pop at at the beginning of the DVD are gone, now I'm stuck with a black screen instead. Is there anyway to at least speed up this blank area? While the movies, menus and everything else plays just fine once I get past this part--it i'ts still an eye soar to look at a blank screen for so long while anticipating a menue screen or movie.
     
  2. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Anyone?
     
  3. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    What are you trying to do here? back up dvds and remove unwanted content? If so, i reccomend you use this guide to do so...
    http://my.afterdawn.com/alkohol/blog_entry.cfm/1273

    Make sure all the softareyou need for that guide is up to date.

    Am I correct in thinking this is what you're trying to do?
     
  4. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    For seamless removal of unwanted material you need a decent editing program. DVDReMake is about the most reasonably priced and not too difficult to use. There's a guide that covers a lot of the software's functions at the web site. http://www.dimadsoft.com

    In DVD Shrink's Reauthor there is the Set Start/End Frames feature that edits without pauses, but that is only good for the beginning and end of titles.
     
  5. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What I'm pretty sure the problem is being that it mostly happens on newer Sony DVDs is that after I get rid of the initial preview junk (stuff that would be playing before the root menu appeared) the blanked material is stuck with some sort of menu command that stops it from skipping straight to the Menu. After reading about pgceditor and working with the psl converter for Casino Royale I figured there had to be a way to change the menu command with pgceditor. My problem is that program is so complicated for things like that. DVD remake looks like it would get the job done--but like I always say, I'm a big fan of freeware. Any suggestions?
     
  6. fatstrat

    fatstrat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  7. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you set the navigation command to go directly to menu, you don't have to worry as much about the additional material, except for editing to lower compression. If freeware is your thing, go over the guides fatsrat supplied on pgcedit. RipIt4Me has the jump to menu feature and all you have to do is select it in Preferences or when you open the 1-Click mode's Step 1 window make sure the box for the option is checked at the bottom. It couldn't be easier. RI4M rips movie or movie and menu as well as Full DVD.
     
  8. fatstrat

    fatstrat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have never used ripit4me. If it is the same as anydvd's "jump to main menu" feature it will do the same thing as the poster is talking about. It still goes through the normal program chains on the disc until it reaches the menu. The dvd player will act like it's searching through the disc until it finds the first play pgc. This is why I started useing pgcedit.

    Once you do your first two or three you can fly right through your dvd's. Once ran through pgcedit, run your dvd through fixvts for a perfect cleanup.

    Strat
     
  9. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm gonna give your advice and guides a shot later on tonight. Thanks for the help and I'll keep you all posted if I succeed or run into any problems.
     
  10. fatstrat

    fatstrat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2007
  11. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Strat, one quick question. What ripper are you using alongside anydvd?
     
  12. fatstrat

    fatstrat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well I stopped useing anydvd for the most part, but I always used Dvd Decrypter with anydvd. All newer Dvds I have been useing Dvd Fab Decrypter.

    Strat
     
  13. fatstrat

    fatstrat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Actually either one will get the job done. I like having both in case one or the other has issues.

    Strat
     
  14. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alright, thanks.
     
  15. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    2 coasters later. I ripped the disk with dvd decypter and anydvd with skip to root menu in the background. I then used the PSL2 plugin wizard to fix things followed by vobblanker followed by pgcedit to go straight to the root menu. I should mention that when I just did a straight rip and burn with anydvd (without pgcedit) skipping to menu it made a coaster, so I then edited the same VTS files with pgc for the second dvd or coaster. I'm gonna try doing a new rip without anydvd using jump to main menu and see if that fixes things.
     
  16. fatstrat

    fatstrat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If your intention is to use pgcedit, don't use anydvd jump to main title feature. Disable it and rip normally. There are some dvd's that anydvd's jump to feature doesn't work on.

    Seriously try to rip your dvd with Dvd Fab (free)
    http://www.dvdfab.com/free.htm

    Then run through pgcedit. Run the trace and find the menu and set the jump to pgc when dvd inserted. What is really cool is you can blank everything within the dvd with pgcedit too, you have to run fixvts after every edit or it will still be there under unreference material when you transcode.

    This is how I backup my copies now:
    1. Rip with Dvd Fab or Dvd Decrypter w/Anydvd
    2. Run through pgcedit set my jump to title, blank out extra junk etc. blank out unneeded buttons in menus. Then save the dvd.
    3. Run entire dvd through Fixvts.
    4. **This is important** Run the dvd through Power Dvd on my computer to see if everything turned out right.
    5. Transcode with Nero Recode 2 or Dvd Shrink.
    6. Burn with Nero Burning Rom or Dvd Decrypter if I used Dvd Shrink.

    And yes the extra steps with pgcedit and fixvts can take extra time, no more than 20 minutes, but it is worth it. The cleaning up of the dvd gives me a clean file to transcode. The compression is quite lower than keeping all that crap on the dvd.

    I hope this helps!

    Strat
     
  17. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thats pretty cool. I've been messing with pgcedit and reading about how to use the program & the method you use almost matches mine exactly except for I use Ripit4me. One pretty big problem though. While I can blank and jump straight to the menu now somthing gets screwed up with the most important button of the title--the play movie button. When I select it the DVD acts like I hit the stop button. No idea why it's doing that.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2007
  18. fatstrat

    fatstrat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hmmm not sure there. Did the trace work fine in pgcedit when you selected the play button? As you know you can select the buttons in the menu to see where the next pgc goes to.

    Strat

     
  19. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Success, sweet success. Casino Royale and Pursuit of happyness now start exactly where I want them to and don't make my DVD player sound like its going into a seizure. I'm sure the last problem with the button had to do with me hitting buttons I wasn't supposed to when following the pgc guide Strat supplied. Much thanks to Strat and everyone else who helped me out here. Now I have a good idea of how to make a clean copy out of all the garbage Sony likes to throw on DVDs.
     
  20. fatstrat

    fatstrat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Super!

    Anymore I let the dvd play through power dvd to see how much junk is at the beggining before I decide to use pgcedit. Same with how much junk is in between the play button and the actual movie.

    Strat
     

Share This Page