1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ahhh I BROKE it!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by xshredx, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok here's the story. I was installing a Matrix Infinity in my V7 PS2. Upon soldering the SCEX point, I got a little bit of solder on the neighboring resistor. I thought it was just a little piece of solder, not completely attatched to it, so I tried scratching it off with a small precision screwdriver (BAD IDEA!). Upon doing so, the tiny resistor broke off the board!

    I desparately tried soldering it back on the board, but it kept coming off, or was completely off-center. The last time it came off, the resistor broke in half!

    So what, am I doomed now?! Any suggestions?!? This is the resistor that I broke off as a result of stupidity(circled in GREEN):

    http://www3.telus.net/lamielf/ps2.jpg

    I couldn't get a reading out of the broken resistor, using a meter. I'm afraid that I might've melted the pads in which the resistor sits on, or the black resistor that the SCEX wire sits on.

    Can anybody PLEASE help me?!? This whole thing has been really worrying me and stressing me out.

    My only idea is to replace the resistor, so if ANYONE out there has a V7 PS2, can you PLEASE check that resistor with a meter and tell me the reading in ohms, so i'll be able to replace it?

    I would be EXTREMELY greatful for any help at all! Any ideas and or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!!
     
  2. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    can anyone help? hmmm maybe i should just buy a v7 motherboard? what do you think of that?
     
  3. punx777

    punx777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sounds like your pry out of luck:( sorry man, but hey if you find a motherboard cheaper then 50 bux give me a p/m because i need one despretly!!!!!
     
  4. epepper9

    epepper9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    xshredx,
    use a digital multimeter and check the resistance, starting on the lowest resistance setting, working your way up (It might me good to use alligator clips, so that the testing electrodes hold themselves on there).
    Go to your nearest electronics store and find the resistor's matching, or very very very very close to value in ?s (ohms).

    Hope your PS2 isn't screwed.
     
  5. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ahhh man that sucks!

    oh well, i guess we all learn from our mistakes eh? next time i'll be extra careful and be less of a clumsy idiot. yeah if i find one i'll be sure to drop you a pm.

    if you don't mind sharing, why is it that you need one too? did you have a problem similar to mine?
     
  6. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oh sorry, didn't see epepper9's post.

    yeah i did exactly that, but i couldn't get a reading.. i must have been holding it wrong, i'll try it again. do you know where can i get resistors that size?
     
  7. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Surely someone must have a V7 apart who could check the resistance value of a good resistor for him. i would love to help you with that but mines a V9.
     
  8. IguanaC64

    IguanaC64 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What you might try (when you get a new resistor) is to get a pin (as in a needle...not a writing device) and get a dot of superglue on it and place the resistor where it's supposed to go with tweezers...obviously be very careful about placing it. You shouldn't put so much glue that you can't get it off the board. Just enough so that it should stick well enough to solder it back...be sure to use plenty of flux to let the solder flow easily when you resolder the resistor back on.

    In the future, it's prolly better to just slowly work excess solder off with your iron =)...or just leave a little bit of extra solder on it unless it's getting in your way.

    I'd help you out with identifying the resistor, but I only have a V4 and a V9 =/.
     
  9. epepper9

    epepper9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alright, I forgot to mention that resistors are not only measured in ohms, but also in there tolerance, and wattage. If you get one with not enough wattage handling, it will get hotter, be more resistant, get even hotter, be even more resistant.................... Then die, or desolder itself.
    I suggest getting one with the lowest tolerance, say 1%, this is how acurate it is to its ohms rating, also get a pack of 5 or something, because they should be about 6 cents each, unless wirewounds.

    eg
    a 5% half watts(usually brown body), 1% 1 watt (blue or green body) look like this:
    [​IMG]
    Wirewounds available in 5 or 10 watt:
    [​IMG]

     
  10. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thank you for all of everyone's help so far!!

    Yup, I learned all about tolerance and whatnot in electronics class. So where can I get this kind of small resistor? I beleive they're called surface mount resistors? If I can't find one I guess i'll just take one from an old cpu motherboard.

    If the resistor is not soldered on correctly or if anything else is broken(i.e. a component melted), will I be able to tell right away?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2004
  11. tommyl

    tommyl Guest

  12. tommyl

    tommyl Guest

    i have a v7 ps2 and my resistor is not damaged and i still get no reading on it and mine works fine with a duo2 se installed just put yours back together and see what happens
     
  13. epepper9

    epepper9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    SHit!!!, I forgot they would be SMD (surface mounted) components, oh weak....

    Anyway, I am in AUstralia, so I would go to jaycar.com.au, but otherwise, find a local shop, go to their online cataglog and find the part, OR use froogle.com

    as for finding the value, I dont know what else you can do, post a photo, of where it came from and get someone with a v7 to have a look for you.


    Whoops, I should've had a closer look at your link originally, sorry.
     
  14. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    tommyl:
    ahaha the resistor is like broken in half so im afraid i can't do that.

    epepper9:
    haha no worries i didn't really talk about that in detail.


    i hope i didn't damage the pad.....
     
  15. Shaolin36

    Shaolin36 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Heres a real good idea.. Ok mother boards are expensive you dont need 1. go to a pawn shop they sell ps2's for like 40 bucks man. If that dosnt work find a crack head the always have cheap ps2's and you might even be able to get a ps2 and a tv to play it on for 50 bucks.
     
  16. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    good idea! but how common are v7 ps2s? whatever its worth a try, i might be in luck.
     
  17. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You don't necessarily have to use a surface mount type resister as a replacement. You can use a standard type, snip the lead ends to an appropriate length and solder the tips to the contact points on the motherboard.
     
  18. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah i was thinking about doing that

    but i don't know where to get 1/4 or 1/2 watt resistors with low tolerance (i could get some from school but tomorrow is the last day before winter vacation and i still have no idea what the value of the resistor is.

    so if i can't find smds then yeah thats a good idea, i'm definately gonna do that, thanks a lot.
     
  19. df65

    df65 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    From the picture it looks like a capacitor not a resistor. If indeed iti s a capacitor then it probably is used for decoupling and you have nothing much to worry about. The typical values are 100nF.

    There are various size in SMD caps like 0803,1216 etc so you need to be sure. THe Digital multimeter will not shoe anything if this is a cap. I have a V9 PS2. I will open it and see if there is similar circuit inside.

    did you power up hte board and check, a removed resistor will normally not cause a catasthropic failure anyways.
     
  20. xshredx

    xshredx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ahhh dude you are so right!!!

    Thanks a lot man, do you have a capacitance meter that you can use?
     

Share This Page