1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alcohol 120% Backup: Speed Unselectable

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by JRoland, Feb 11, 2005.

1. JRoland

JRoland Member

Hello,

I am still new to the PS2 backup scene and have only made two succesfull backups in 5 attempts. I guess if I was a baseball hitter, I'd be a Hall of Famer. But, since I'm trying to backup my PS2 games, I suck!

That being said, I have a Pioneer DVR-108 internal Dual Format DVD burner. I have only used Memorex DVD-R 8x in conjunction with DVD Decrypter.

Here's my issue. Because I have 3 coasters, I am looking into getting to the specific root of my problem. I know many have suggested TDK's and Verbatim discs. I am taking their advice and purchasing a 50 spindle of the Verbatim DVD-R's this weekend from BestBuy, ($20). However, I am still weary of creating more coaster - only with "better" media.

So, in an effort to rule out other possible causes, I am trying to burn my images which were READ using DVD Decrypter with Alcohol 120%. Follow?

So, as per all the [helpful] tutorials out there, I ran Alcohol, selected my image, and then tried to burn it at 1x - or even 2x. No such luck. When I go to select my speed from the Drop-Down menu in the program, I can only choose 4x, 8x, and 12x. I don't even think these damn DVD's can burn above 8x?!?!?

Does anyone know what's going on here?

Thanks!

Oh, and I guess it's worthing mentioning: I am using a FlipTop with my Version9 PS2 in conjunction with SwapMagicv3.3 Discs. Also, when I have burned the previous images using DVD Decrypter, I placed the images closest to the root of my hard drive, e.g. C:\IMAGE_NAME.mds and chose 1x as my speed. I literally had nothing else running in the background.

Whew - </Novel Over>

2. JRoland

JRoland Member

Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?