1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alcohol 120% Datatype drop down menu problem

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Visvim, Aug 5, 2007.

  1. Visvim

    Visvim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys,

    I'm trying to burn a PS2 DVD using Alcohol 120%, but the program never gives me the datatype drop down menu to change the type to Playstation 2. I've tried a few times to burn it normally, but they of course, don't work on my PS2.

    Does anyone know what I should do? Or an alternate way to get the datatype to change?
     
  2. Ofnir1

    Ofnir1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Changing the dataype for a PS2 DVD game on Alcohol 120%? You only need to do that when it's a CD-ROM PS2 game that you want to copy. The reason for this is because PS1 games are CD-ROM based, and the options differ from PS1 and PS2 CD-ROM games. So when it comes to a PS2 DVD game that you want to burn, you don't have to worry about datatype.

    Also, you said that the games don't work even after burning. What are you using to load your backed up games?
     
  3. Visvim

    Visvim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The DVD guides I read (and the one on here) for burning PS2 games with Alcohol always had that dropdown menu appearing when they went to burn a game.

    As for media, I'm using Imation 16x DVD-R disks. I burned the game I wanted to play with DVD Decrypter, it worked, although it played kind of slow, and eventuyally didn't work anymore.
     
  4. Ofnir1

    Ofnir1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've seen the same guide, not sure why the author didn't mention that PS2 DVDs don't need a datatype to be selected. I've made a lot of backups with A120 before, and I haven't had to use the Datatype option at all, and they work just fine :)

    Oh yeah, what speed are you burning your backups at?
     
  5. Visvim

    Visvim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've used various speeds all with different results.

    The one disk I made that actually worked, I burned at 8x, since the DVD decrypter guide I read told me to burn at half the speed of the disk I was using. It worked, but loaded slowly, and eventually stopped loading. I burned another game at 2x using DVD Decrypter, and it didn't work at all.

    I burned the same games at 2.5x in A120 and none of them loaded.
     
  6. Ofnir1

    Ofnir1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, so you have tried various speeds, good one :)

    It sounds like it may be a media problem. I've used Imation DVD-R discs before and it didn't perform that great :(
     

Share This Page