1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

All you pros - bare with me...

Discussion in 'PS2' started by KrisJ, Feb 8, 2005.

1. KrisJ

KrisJ Member

So I've been doing some reading, and am curious about a few things regarding PS2 modding and backing up PS2 games. I have a few questions for y'all, and you may have heard these questions being asked hundreds of times before by newbies, but my intentions are not to annoy!

1)What are the pros and cons of a No Solder Chip and a Solder Chip? It seems to me that a Solder Chip would be much more convinient to have, based on some of my mini-research.

2)SWAP DISCS. Do you absolutely need them if wanting to play backups? What is their exact purpose? What exactly do you do with these discs? This area was somewhat confusing, considering I have no knowledge on products such as Game Shark, WHATSOEVER!

3)Flip Tops. Are they also completely necessary? Why the need to "swap discs"? Also lost in this department haha.

4)MODCHIPS. Are they all basically out to perform the same tasks, or is there different modchips to serve for different purposes?

Sorry for the typical newbie questions some of you must be so sick of! I look forward on getting schooled, thanks in advance!

2. KrisJ

KrisJ Member

---

Last edited: Feb 8, 2005
  3. KrisJ

KrisJ Member

---

Last edited: Feb 8, 2005
  4. KrisJ

KrisJ Member

MODERATORS: So sorry for the triple posting, I didn't mean to post more than once.

5. lib

lib Guest

Well from what I have done on researching this, I will tell you

1) Pros of a solder chip, bascially you dont have to use a swap disc. less hassle, just slap in your backup and play. CON. You void your warrenty. With no solder options like the Slim TOol, you dont have to void your warrenty, but you have to use a swap disc each time you go to play a BACKUP game. Some people are lazy / find that a hassle, others dont.