1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amiko Alien 2 box

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by gwpd07, Mar 19, 2014.

  1. gwpd07

    gwpd07 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm currently considering the Amiko Alien 2 box. My friend has this box and thinks it's great. He pays a subscription for channels. Has anyone else used this box? I'm just wondering do I need this particular box if its all iptv? There are many boxes available right now and wondering will any box with iptv capabilities work with any given subscription or do some boxes require specific subscriptions?
    Cheers
     
  2. Mooley

    Mooley Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    This box is not really iptv. There is youporn, youtube and a few other iptv options on it but I have never managed to get the super iptv option running, maybe others here have. It runs oscam with a line very well and the picture is excellent.
     
  3. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    simply put its not an enigma2 box. as mooley says it works fine on basic functions. it has no other saving grace. its built on a hardware that is archaic and offers very few of the benefits of what is available currently. would not buy.
     
  4. gwpd07

    gwpd07 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks lads. Not sure if my friend is running oscam on it or not, he has it hooked to the net so I assume it could be. Get picture and sound coming from it. I got a few starviews and kryptview boxes a few years ago which are useless now so I was considering this box because if all else fails down the line it'll be a grand combi box.
     
  5. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    correct me if I'm wrong but the box is a dual tuner satellite box only? combi is satellite and terrestrial tv. to my knowledge the amiko does not do this. happy to be corrected:)
     
  6. gwpd07

    gwpd07 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah there's a new on out with a triple tuner 2x DVB-S2 Tuners & a DVB-T2 Tuner. So I was thinking of setting up the saorview on the T2 tuner and freesat on S2 later down the road.
     
  7. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    amiko has no future. the hardware is based on first gen gaming systems. if you would like to invest on that into the future then I can't stop you. alternately please look at ariva threads on after dawn. at least u get a decent box
     
  8. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    As fint says old tech, you want a good supported combi box, get the new Ferguson Ariva 252, both sat and T2 tuner or the Ariva 250, sat and a DTT standard tuner, has the same as the Amiko, youtube, youporn etc, IPTV option also and Grooveshark built in for music for about 110 euros, pic is excellent and the firmware is updated regular, choice is yours, but I wouldnt be buying a box based on old tech
     
  9. gwpd07

    gwpd07 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks lads, I've decided on the Ferguson Ariva 252 it's cheaper than the Amiko and I know nothing about the hardware side of things so thanks for the heads up, I appreciate it. I've asked my friend and he said he has his Amiko box on a line like them skybox f5's. Can this be an option with the Ariva?
     
  10. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Yes, load the EMU firmware (google Ariva 252 emu firmware) load it and then you can load the line to the box, the only thing about the Ferguson, as they are used in the Irish and Europe markets, chan files are like hens teeth you will have to do a chan file for it, you can do this via the box with the remote, move chans up and down etc or download the Ferguson Chan editor you can move chans about etc, a tad slow to do, but once done you can update or change the file as you wish
     

Share This Page