1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

an analyze and encode the dvd without any problem, but then dvdshrink just doesn't burn it

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by tiffsinny, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Please help! I burned dvds on my old computer with no problem. I can't seem to figure it out on this new one, though I have all the same software. I'm using DVDshrink 3.2, Nero 6, and I have the latest version of AnyDVD. I can analyze and encode the dvd without any problem, but then dvdshrink just doesn't burn it. Under the 'target device' tab, it doesn't even say "burn with nero to the following device" it just says "select backup target", and under the 'burn settings' tab, everything is greyed out. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Someone please help! If it would be easier in real-time chat, my yahoo ID is ***removed***. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  2. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    tiffsinny

    Since your computer is new, I'll assume your running windows Vista?


    DVDshrink should have no real problems with Vista, but Nero 6 will. In order to use Nero with Vista, you'll need to upgrade to the latest version of 7 or 8. If you don't want to upgrade, there's always Imgburn (freeware), which will burn ISO image files to DVD.

    Imgburn
    http://www.imgburn.com/
     
  3. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, I guess I didn't make that clear...both machines are running XP. The 'new' computer, is only new to me.
     
  4. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It looks like shrink isn't seeing nero or your DVD burner. I'll make another assumption and assume you have burn with nero checked in shrink's preferences?

    What version of nero 6 do you have?

    The order in which the apps are installed can make a difference, you should install nero first and shrink last so that it can properly detect nero and your burner.

    I would uninstall nero and shrink, run a registry cleaner (like ccleaner free), then reinstall nero 6 and last, install shrink.

    ccleaner
    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,24149-order,1-page,1-c,alldownloads/description.html

    Note: the proper way to uninstall nero is to use the cleantool fould here: http://www.nero.com/enu/downloads-cleantools.html
     
  5. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes. it's checked. i will try the reinstallation and see how that goes.
     
  6. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was really hoping this would work, as I had installed dvdshrink first the last time around. But after reinstalling both programs, I'm having the same problem. Nothing has changed. I don't know what's wrong.
     
  7. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    One other thing to mention is that if you're running a skinng program that alters the appearance of XP like windowblinds, stop running the application. Windowblinds and other skinning programs can also alter the appearance of shrink and hide some of its options (like those in its backup section).
     
  8. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Another thing I maybe should mention is that this computer has 2 drives, the top one, labeled "F", is a dvd-rom, and the bottom, "G", is the burner. My old computer only had one. Initially when I checked the settings in Nero the source and target destinations weren't set correctly, but even fixing that didn't help the issue. As far as what version of Nero 6...I'm not sure how to find that information.
     
  9. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't have anything like windowblinds.
     
  10. don1973

    don1973 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had this problem as well. I bought a new Lite On burner and Shrink would not recognize it, but it turns out that it was Nero 6 that would not recognize the new burner. So I could not burn directly from Shrink to Nero.

    You have two choices, either upgrading your Nero burning ROM to 7, since 8 will not work as well. Or you can do what was suggested above, and what I did, and install imgburn.

    Here is the link to download imgburn:
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/cdr_software/cdr_tools/imgburn.cfm

    And here is a link to download the "tweak" for Shrink:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/35280436/Shrink_w_ImgBurn.rar

    Once you get the rar file downloaded, just extract it and place the exe file into the DVD Shrink folder in your program files, it will ask you if you want to replace the file already there, say yes.

    Now when you are ready to burn, in the target device, select "ISO image file and burn imgburn" It will encode as normal and then auto start imgburn and burn your file.
     
  11. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If nero wouldn't recognize the burner, wouldnt it not show up in the destination sourch menu as '4x dvd burner' or whatever? i'll give this a try.
     
  12. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    also, if this turns out to be the problem...the dvd burner that's in the new computer is a generic aftermarket one. if i take the aftermarket sony burner that is in my old computer, it should work just as well in the new one...right?
     
  13. don1973

    don1973 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You can check to make sure. Open up Nero and specifically the burning ROM. Select make a data disc DVD. The drives should be displayed, but if I am correct, you will notice a little X next to your DVD burner and it will list its status as not available.

    Do you know the brand and model # of your burner? Was it recently purchased?

    Sure. Like I said, I can only assume the Nero software you are using came with that Sony burner in your old PC. If you install the Sony into your new machine, you should be able to burn with Nero using Shrink.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  14. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have no idea the brand or model number of the burner that's in my new machine. my old one is a Sony DRU-820A, which did come with the nero disc that i have. i was unable to install nero 7 as it needed a serial number? i'm not sure if i am looking at the right thing, but i did open the burning rom and in the drop-down menu where it lists the drives, F and G are both listed with titles, but the little icons do have red X's by them on both. I'm not sure what that says about the dvd-rom(F). when this is done i would like to be able to use the two of the seperately for encoding and burning. i think before i try anything else i am going to switch the burners out. my old one doesn't match in color lol, but i think it's a much better one anyhow, and hopefully this will solve my problem. i'll let you know. thank you both for your help!
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  15. don1973

    don1973 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    That is what I figured. Although the burner does show up, Nero 6 cannot use it. Depending on how new it is, I am not 100% positive that even Nero 7 would be able to access. But since you decided to install your Sony burner, you should not have any issues with Shrink/Nero 6.

    If you do decide in the future to use your other burner, I would strongly recommend installing imgburn, its a very reliable program. And since its freeware, you do not need to worry about serial numbers.

    As for question about why both drives showed little red X's, I can only assume since your other drive is a DVD-ROM drive and not a burner, that would make it unavailable for burning, hence the x next to it and the "Not available" status.

    let us know how it turns out for you

    good luck
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  16. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, so now i have a new problem. I was switching the drives..and i got everything connected ...but then i realized that somehow the little grey cord on the far side of the drive that has the little black 4 prong ends, came disconnected on the other side. I don't even know what it connects to. I looked in my old computer, and it was connected there to a place on the green flat thing. I connected the cable to the only 4 prong place i could see on the green thing in this machine, but apparently that's not it, because after powering my computer up again, anydvd popped up saying i don't have a dvd drive installed. Any ideas on how to figure this out?
     
  17. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is it supposed to connect to the top drive, the dvd-rom? because i didn't see a little grey cord on that one.
     
  18. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    upon further review of guides found on google, this is the 'audio cable'
     
  19. tiffsinny

    tiffsinny Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ahhh...the guides on installing dvd burners that i'm looking at online say the other end of the audio cable should be connected to a sound card. i don't know what this looks like and i can't find any pictures..i don't see any place where it could connect. regardless, would finding the right spot and connecting this cord help my computer detect the drive? right now my computer is saying i don't have any cd drives whatsoever...F&G are both gone, even though i didn't even touch F. I'm so confused :-/
     
  20. don1973

    don1973 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The audio cable should not affect whether the PC picks up the drives. I suspect that your jumper settings are not correct or conflict.

    Can you check the Sony drive and tell me what the jumper setting is? You will 4 sets of little silver prongs, and above them inscribed on the drive are CS (cable select) MA (master) SL (slave) Depending on what position on the ribbon cable your drive is using (top position is master and the middle is slave) You will need to set your jumper.

    I would not concern yourself with the audio cable for now.
     

Share This Page