1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

An issue with bigger isos

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Lockd0wn, Mar 23, 2007.

  1. Lockd0wn

    Lockd0wn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It seems any iso I burn that's nearing the edge of a dvd (4gb+) give me issues. With four games now (ATV Offroad Fury 4, Metal Gear Solid 3, Fight Night Rd 3, and Final Fantasy X) I run into some spot near the beginning, either an opening title screen like the "Konami" screen on MGS 3 or a spot in the opening sequence of FFX my ps2 starts to make a really loud clicking sound and the game goes nowhere.

    I'm using Verbatim 16x DVD+Rs with an MCC media id, burning at 4x, booktyped to DVD-Rom. I've read that PS2s can be finicky with 16x media, could that be the issue? Or maybe it would prefer DVD-Rs at that size?

    By the way, I've backed up around 15 other games that work perfectly fine. The largest iso out of those though was somewhere in the 3.8gb range I believe.

    EDIT
    By the way, I tested the DVDs with CD/DVD Speed and they got perfect scores.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2007
  2. vcbc

    vcbc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    For dvds bigger than 4.7Gb yopu can find rip kits and stuff to fit on a dvd-5 but its less trouble using dual media... but they cost more, but when u burn to a dual dvd disk u have to patch the image file with Toxic Dual Layer Patcher
    http://www.teamtoxic.com.cn/
    before burning, but if u use swap magic then u will have to figure out a way to put it on a dvd-5
     
  3. Lockd0wn

    Lockd0wn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It's not Dual Layer games that are giving me a problem. These are all DVD5 games.

    After reading more posts on the forums that I somehow missed when I was absorbing every bit of info I could about backups, I think it might just be the 16x media.
     
  4. orthogonl

    orthogonl Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I would try a different brand of media and since you are using DVD+Rs right now, I would go for 8x DVD-Rs.
     
  5. vcbc

    vcbc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yea, or maybe they need to be rebuilt, i do not know much about rebuilding, but when i need help rebuilding a iso i just google it up and see if theres anything on it.
     
  6. Lockd0wn

    Lockd0wn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So...I was reading some comments about a Devil May Cry issue where people would lock up at the title screen. Someone mentioned hitting start really quick would get past that. Lo and behold the same thing held true for the problem spots on the games I'm having issues with. Everything now works fine as long as I hit start very quickly before either the title screen or area in the game it would normally lock up in. Weird.
     
  7. ovrfiendx

    ovrfiendx Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try dvd-r. My PS2 and a few others I know of won't even read the disk if I use dvd+r. I've copied aroun 150 games all to verbatum dvd-r and all work fine.
     
  8. BIGnewb

    BIGnewb Guest

    if the games are dvd5 but are over 4gb they probably need rebuilding.fifa world cup 2006 had the same problem.try rebuilding.
     

Share This Page