1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Analog to DVD's...what I plan to buy..will it be enough?

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by RahJah_1, Jan 16, 2005.

1. RahJah_1

RahJah_1 Member

Ok,I'm a Newbie

I have read this board for the past 4 hours & the below is what I have learned & will like to put in place so that I can burn my old analog HI8 & VHS tapes to DVD's.

1. I plan to purchase a Canopus ADVC100..I might upgrade to the ADVC 300.
    2. I intend to buy the Vegas 5.0 Authoring program.

After all my reading in respect to capturing files via AVI....I prefer AVI.. and having a authoring program that will not degrade ( any further) my completed edited AVI movies upon conversion to
    Mepeg 2.. I belive what I have above will get me what I'm looking for...decent..if not great DVD's of my old HI8 / VHS tapes.

I'm have a Gateway system (just got it 3 days ago)Windows XP, 2.8 Ghz, 160 GB hard drive,
    512 ram, Integrated IntelĀ® Graphics Media Accelerator 900 video card

Thus I have the following questions;
    1 Am I right? What I intend to buy above..will that take care & hopefully avoid most of the problems I have read here on this board?
    2 DO I still need to invest in a stand alone "codec" to convert my incoming digital files from my ADVC 100 to AVI ??
    3. Do I still need a stand alone AVI to Mpeg2 converting program? (I've read that Vegas 5.0 has a great AVI to Mepg2 within it, hence one of my reasons for buying it.)

If I do need a stand alone "codec" or/and a stand alone AVI to Mepg2 ..please tell me which one I should buy or download?

Please Help..!!!
    RahJah_1

2. Prisoner

Prisoner Guest

I am also very new to this as well, but what I have found in the last 48hrs is this.

I have now a Camcorder that allows signal pass through, (Panasonic PVGS200) Using that I get firewire in (the same as if you buy the ADVC100).