1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any DVD-R bigger then 4.7 gb?

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by nbgoku, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. nbgoku

    nbgoku Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    are there any dvd-r out there that are bigger then 4.7 gb? i wana copy the hole dvd without losing any data. If there arent any, does anyone know if ther will ever be some and when?
     
  2. Acme8790

    Acme8790 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes but they are very expensive and hard to find. I saw a website the othrday but I forget where. I think it was shop4tech.com
     
  3. Acme8790

    Acme8790 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you could always shrink the original with shrink to get the whole thing on a disk....or you can break it into 2 disks without compressing it
     
  4. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    There are NO -R dvd blanks bigger than 4.7 gig. All dual layer at this time are +R. There as some flipper blanks listed as 9 gig but are burned on both sides. Not to be mistaken for true dual layer blanks. As to future possible dual layer -R, I would think that will happen at some time.

    Jerry
     
  5. Acme8790

    Acme8790 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that must have been what i saw then, a flipper disk. Do you think they will ever come down to a reasonable price? Also what is the different between + and -???

    Can my burner do both and if so which is better? I have a pioneer 105
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    nope the 105 can only do -R.
     
  7. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does anyone know where you can get flipper disks? I have never seen any sold at any of the larger retail stores "Best Buy, etc.." or online even. I have been interested in them for a while seeing how I only have a single layer burner. I would be great to have a longer movie (i.e. LOTR or Das Boot) with very good quality on one disk, even if it needs to be flipped.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Go Cats! Sproles for Heisman 2004!
    http://www.darrensproles43.com
    [​IMG][/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2004
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  9. super-guy

    super-guy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  10. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Maybe I should clarify, I have never seen any +R's with two sides. I have seen them in -R before but not in +R. Just wondering if there are any out there for a decent price
     
  11. michigan

    michigan Guest

    Insted of using a flipper why not just use two R's and split the movie? No quality degradation, cheaper, and more convient 9you already have them).
     
  12. Doom1234

    Doom1234 Guest

    hey michigan, your pc is only 1.8 mhz?

    emachines T1862, 1.8mhz, 762 ram, 60gig hdd, 10gig hdd, lite-on multiformat dvd, 1394 IEEE

    Might want to change that to ghz. I knew emachines used cheap parts but thats really cheap!
     
  13. michigan

    michigan Guest

    LMAO

    Your the first to notice (including me), thanks.

    I have not one complaint about the emachines except there is not much physical room to upgrade. I'll build my next one. I already have A 600mhz and the [bold]1.8 ghz ;)[/bold] so getting another systemis not int he wifes frame of mind right now.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]emachines T1862, 1.8ghz, 762 ram, 60gig hdd, 10gig hdd, lite-on multiformat dvd, 1394 IEEE
    [​IMG][/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2004

Share This Page