1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Known Nero Conflicts?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Bruinguy, Feb 18, 2004.

  1. Bruinguy

    Bruinguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm having serious trouble with Nero. I used it in the past but since I replaced my hard drive and reinstalled Nero, I'm having zero luck. Everytime I try and open Nero it just hangs and will not close unless I reboot.

    Is anyone aware of Nero conflicting with any software out there? Or are there any other suggestions you may have? I've uninstalled it and installed it about 4 times now.

    Help!!
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Bruinguy,

    What error messages are you gettig and what are you trying to burn ?
    Pete
    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent 4 CPU 2.84GHz, 1GB RAM.
    340GB HD, 7200 (Maxtor 120, Western 200 & 20.
    4 Drives, JLMS DVD ROM, HP DVD Writer 200j,
    Nec 4X DVD RW ND-1300A & AXV CD/DVD-ROM.
    GeForce4 Ti 4200-128MB, OS– XP sp1.[/small]
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2004
  3. drchips

    drchips Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yeah,

    Nero has a software conflict issue with Microsoft Windows (all versions) !!! ;)

    Byeeee...
     
  4. Ausgum

    Ausgum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The only software that i know that conflicts with Nero is Adaptec easy CD creator,
    I hope that helps
     
  5. Bruinguy

    Bruinguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for your reply Pete.

    I wish I could tell you I'm getting an error message but I'm not getting anything at all. The Nero Burning Rom window opens with the Nero title over top, boom...that's it. I don't get the opportunity to hit the demo button, put in a serial number or anything.

    I'm only trying to back up some DVD's with files already compressed with Shrink.
     
  6. dbminter

    dbminter Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    On this Compaq Presario S4040SE, even on a factory image, Nero does have a conflict with all versions 2003 and 2004 of Norton AntiVirus's AutoProtect. If loaded, Nero will "freeze" at least 1 in 5 times, when trying to write a hard disk image. If NAV AP is not loaded, Nero will write the images all the time. However, it is only with revisions greater than 6.0.0.15 Patch 5203. That version and all previous versions through 5.0 worked on this machine and an older Micron PC.
     
  7. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Bruinguy,

    As was mentioned, kill off Easy CD Creator, Adaptec or Roxio -

    Unintall Nero, reboot (to really clean it out) - reinstall Nero, reboot (to let it settle) and give it a try again :)

    Let me know how you make out :D

    Pete
     
  8. crazydope

    crazydope Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just suggest getting a new version. I had 6. something and it kept crashing everytime i tried it. They're always getting updates with plug-ins. I just got a copy of the latest 6.3.0 3..and it works perfectly..
     
  9. Bruinguy

    Bruinguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, thanks to all for the info. I've cleaned it out totally, rebooted, downloaded Nero 6.3.0.3, reinstalled, rebooted attempted to open Nero Burning ROM and the Nero window opens, the full colour title screen shows and at the bottom it says:

    "Scanning SCSI/IDE bus, please wait"

    That's it...hangs right up. I can't open Internet Explorer, can't shut down Nero. The only way I can do anything again is to reboot using the reset button on the PC.

    Does this help anyone with a solution for me????? I want my Nero back!!

    BTW, someone mentioned issue with Norton, I'm using McAfee 7.00.5. Any ideas?
     
  10. crazydope

    crazydope Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Where are u getting it from? I had the same prob for awhile then I downloaded the latest version from there site a demo..then i got the correct serial # and its been working flawlessly since
     
  11. mparter

    mparter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What version of Windows are you using?
     
  12. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    (Huuuummmm, wonderin' what it is - )

    It isn't McAfee, I'm running that -

    OK, what mparter said, OS ?
     
  13. Bruinguy

    Bruinguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm running XP Pro.
     
  14. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ok, XP is fine - let's really clean house -

    Then download and run this -

    Nero utilites, " a fix for Nero problems"
    http://www.nero.com/us/631898242809219.html

    Download this too -

    Nero clean tools :D
    http://www.nero.com/en/631938347293151.html

    "P"

    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent 4 CPU 2.84GHz, 1GB RAM.
    340GB HD, 7200 (Maxtor 120, Western 200 & 20.
    4 Drives, JLMS DVD ROM, HP DVD Writer 200j,
    Nec 4X DVD RW ND-1300A & AXV CD/DVD-ROM.
    GeForce4 Ti 4200-128MB, OS– XP sp1.[/small]
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2004
  15. mparter

    mparter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Are there any errors in your event logs?

    Start > Settings > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Event Viewer
     
  16. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    mparter,

    He has no logs, it hangs up when he tries to open it -

    "P"
     
  17. mparter

    mparter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm talking about the logs that Windows has to record application, system and security events. There may be a clue in here.
     
  18. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    The "Clue" is the freeze - the 2 programs I sent him should set him right up :p

    YaaaaHoooooo !!!!!
     
  19. Bruinguy

    Bruinguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, I appreciate all of your help, I've downloaded and ran the cleaning utiities that were suggested. I've rebooted, downloaded Nero again and still hangs.

    I'm at the point of looking for an alternative to Nero. I love Nero but I'm sure you can appreciate my frustration now. Any ideas???
     
  20. Bruinguy

    Bruinguy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If it's any help, here are shots of my startup from msconfig

    (tried to paste images)

    I'm hoping that this works. If not, I'll type it out manually.

    Okay, that didn't work...here are the files in my startup:

    NvCpl
    nwiz
    tfswctrl
    DVDBitset
    DVDTray
    sstray
    RunDll16
    Winampa
    LVCOMS
    ISStart
    LogiTray
    jusched
    zlclient
    qttask
    NeroCheck
    NVMCTRAY
    RuLaunch
    Logitech Desktop Messenger

    Anything stand out as a problem???
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2004

Share This Page