1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AnyDVD / CloneDVD2 burning problem

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by shadrack, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. shadrack

    shadrack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone,

    I've been using the above-mentioned software for a few years now with no problems, till now. I'll mention what I've done so far and would appreciate any advice.

    My DVD burner is a Plextor PX-708 UF. I've been using Maxell blanks without a problem.

    About a month ago I couldn't complete a burn. The old "remove layer break" message that I received on clicking Go in CloneDVD2 stopped appearing. While that might not matter, I started to receive a message at the end of a rip, "insert recordable media".

    I had done so...or so I thought. So I checked the Slysoft forums and learned that I should be using a better type of disk. Fine - I went and bought some Verbatim and just for good measure a few TY's as well.

    Same problem, regardless of media. I can't even rip any old DVDs I own.

    Is my drive too old? I think it can go to 8x. Or do you have any suggestions?

    BTW I have not installed Imgburn, Nero, DVDFab or anything else. I'm trying to keep this as simple as possible as I'm not an expert!

    Thanks in advance for your advice.
     
  2. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Have you updated the Anydvd/Clonedvd2 ?, If not, update first.
     
  3. shadrack

    shadrack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, I'm up to date. I'm running AnyDVD 6.3.0.3 and CloneDVD2 2.9.1.2
     
  4. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If u can borrow an external burner for a tryout and see if all is ok. Try for a start.
     
  5. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    it could be a drive old hard to say?
     
  6. shadrack

    shadrack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The drive is about 4 years old. I can't figure out what else it could be...I've DL'd ImgBurn and can't write with it, even from an ISO that I created via CloneDVD2. So I'll try to borrow a drive and see if that solves things.

    This may be a dangerous question, but what drive would an expert recommend?
     
  7. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i use lite-on internal, think pioneers have riplock or used to?
     
  8. shadrack

    shadrack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Realize I should have posted the drive question in another forum...sorry.
     
  9. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    not a problem in this case as its a follow on from your original post so all kool
     

Share This Page