1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone else having no success with sony DVD-R's?

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by kjmuscles, Jan 15, 2005.

1. kjmuscles

kjmuscles Member

I am a little new to all this, only having my dvd burner for about 2 months now. I have purchased 3 25 packs of sony dvd-r with media code SONY08D1. I don't get a chance to watch a lot of them after I burn them. It is usually a week or 2 in some cases before I watch some of them. Well, I have had a horrible time getting any of them to copy without any bad skips or pauses in the movie. Just recently I have decided to recopy my sony DVD-R movies onto some verbatim dvd-r and ridata dvd+r(which I heard were good by reading on this site). All my sony dvd-r disks get a crc error when trying to read them or encode them with dvdshrink or dvddecryptor(even with the settings that scuba pete mentioned). Most of them are in perfect condition too, but even then I still clean them before trying, and nothing.

I have copied 3 movies on ridata and 2 on my verbatim and all 5 of those movies are perfect with no read crc errors, according to dvdinfo.

I warn people who are wondering what meida to use, to stay away from sony. I have about a 1 in 6 or 7 success rate with them, in 3 different spindles. And even ones that will play alright on my home dvd player, will get crc errors if you try and recopy them onto a better quality disk, or for a friend or family member.

Anyone else have trouble with sony dvd-r's?

Oh yeah and I don't know if it matters or not, but I am useing a micro advantage dual layer dvd burner, and it wasn't cheap.

2. bbthumper

bbthumper Guest

....I have had great luck with Sony. Alot of times its not the media but the DVD player that is finky. My sony DVD player hated everything but verbatim and my JVC plays TDK,Sony and verbatim....

3. saugmon

saugmon Senior member