1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone know how to make ps2 backups without fliptop, swap, or mod?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by hog45177, Dec 30, 2004.

1. hog45177

hog45177 Member

I'm a little knew at this type of thing.....but not a newbie. I guess you could say I'm a newbie with copying game console disks but not with dvd writing and such. I've heard all over the net that you always have to have a mod or something that does the same function as a mod. With my knowlege of DVD burning and computers, I reasoned that there has to be a way to make a copy that can be played without the mod ect. Does anyone know how that would be done? Again, I'm almost positive it can be done....somehow. I tried to create an ISO from DVD Decrypter because I hear that's a good program and it's what I use for DVD movies. I put it in the ps2 once it burned and it said please put in a disk that is ps2 format or something like that. I know on Xbox, the data is written differently so backups are harder, but people still do that so does anyone know if there is a way? If so, how? I'm willing to learn.

2. notmyname

notmyname Regular member

The very center of PS2 originals has $ony data on it. Blank DVD-R's and such have this section already written on, and DVD burners will not write in this area anyway. If you can get some pristine blank DVD-R's and write your own driver for your burner, or buy a commercial version burner, then you have way too much time/money on your hands, and you MIGHT be able to make exact duplicates of the originals.

A Modchip or Swapdisc is a way to get around this problem.