1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone know if the Swap Magic disk and plastic hook will work with the PStwo???

Discussion in 'PS2' started by hiredgoon, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. hiredgoon

    hiredgoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am wondering if the Swap trick will work with the new slim, super small PStwo.

    The reason for this question is that the disk drive looks smaller then the regular ps2 and thus, could make it not catch onto the plastic hook as the original did.

    and by the swap trick i mean the swap magic disc
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2004
  2. hiredgoon

    hiredgoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well i saw another pic and it looks like its top loading ... so i dunno.
     
  3. Ender88

    Ender88 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no one is sure about modding it yet, it doesnt come out for a while, bumnp this thread when its closer to its release or already out. dont make a new thread, bump this one.
     
  4. CHADSR

    CHADSR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I saw a picture on the net that showed that it may be top load and unless sony changed something internally then the swap magic should work.I will be getting one in a couple of weeks so i will try it and let everyone know if it works or not
     
  5. hiredgoon

    hiredgoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well like the ps1, i bet there is a way to trick the system into thinking the try is not open....
     
  6. hiredgoon

    hiredgoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well the PStwo is out now , anyonw know ? ? ? ? ? ?

    swap magic disks or any other way to play backups without a mod chip ?
     
  7. Liam1080

    Liam1080 Guest

    I said it in the PSTWO thread and i'll say it here: take it easy lol the new ps2 only came out today and most people dont even have it yet im hopefully getting my pre-orderd one tommorow i don't have swapmagic yet but if it works ill get it ill let you know what i discover tommorow when i get the ps2.

    Liam
     
  8. CHADSR

    CHADSR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am almost close to getting it to work. It will read the swap magic disc but after you open the lid and insert the backup and then press x the border turns red/pink and i have tried almost evry game that i have.I did however notice that there is a spot in the back of it that when the lid is open it pushes this little bar up against the disc and when closed it pulls it away so this may be the reason.I am still trying other things but if i do get it to work i will be sure to let everyone know.
     
  9. hiredgoon

    hiredgoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I bet you have to dismantle the case in order to find the trigger or clip. I am not demanding someone do it, but to those tech guys who have balls of steel, this is the best way to start.

    You probs have to date the lid apart and fiddle with it, learn it then we can figure out how to play swap magic on it.,
     
  10. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    acording to a ps2ownz forum member you can get swapmagic to work with the new ps two but you have to dismantle your new console and tape a few micro switches down so you can open the lid without your console knowing about it
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]dvd loader http://members.cox.net/candrid2/index.html
    identify your ps2 version http://www.modchip.com/ps2/ps2id.htm
    using swapmagic got problem game check out http://www.swapmagicfix.com/
    ntsc/pal patch http://www.geocities.com/jayteemaster2003/[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2004
  11. meta1

    meta1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can fit a flip top to it or you can modify your slim PS2 so you can open it without the button.

    It's easy. But the slim PS2 is such a waste of money.
     
  12. Zakk77

    Zakk77 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    At ps2ownz.com forums, someone has made a brief tutorial how to get SMD to work with new ps2! There's great images and everything, you just have to 'tape' three things inside.

    Hope it comes to Europe soon!
     
  13. Liam1080

    Liam1080 Guest

    can someone make a new thread containing all the stuff from the ps2own thread as when i try to sighn up it says my ip is banned i've never been to there site before lol
     
  14. hiredgoon

    hiredgoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    we really do need somone to post this info !
     
  15. CHADSR

    CHADSR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes you do have to take apart your pstwo.I took mine apart last night and all you have to basically do is tape down 2 small triggers/clips with duck tape i or something that will keep them down.You also have to make sure that you have the swap magic cd v3.2 I don't know if v3.0 works ornot but i do know that v2.0 doesn't
     
  16. hiredgoon

    hiredgoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ya i made a step by step post on how to do it.


    I just did it myself with no help, its pretty easy.
     

Share This Page