1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple iMac 21.5 A1311 Flashing On And Off

Discussion in 'Mac - General discussion' started by mick087, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. mick087

    mick087 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a Apple iMac 21.5 A1311.
    My problem is that i recently changed the hard drive and in doing so broke the glass screen. I have since replaced the screen and put the hard drive in.
    My probem now is the screen keeps flashing on and off.
    Is working fine but evey few mins at random goes balck themn bright then black then bright. Its just flashing on and off.
    Anyone any ideas what this could be.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is that a laptop or an all-in-1 computer?
     
  3. mick087

    mick087 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is one of them all in ones
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check all the connections internally as might not be seated right or got jared loose when replacing screen or hard drive.
     
  5. megadunderhead

    megadunderhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    i can answer this!!!

    Is it a silver or a white iMac

    The reason i asked is the silver iMacs cannot be upgraded by you the user they can only be upgraded by apple it is because there is a hard drive sensor built into the stock apple IMac hard drive that tells the computer its a ok hard drive to use you have to bypass the sensor in order for the iMac to boot there are hundreds of forums on this....

    i do recommend www.ifixit.com they tell you how to bypass the sensor


    Now if it is a white all in one iMac you are limited to a 1.5 tb hard drive only the firmware on the iMac only reads up to 1.5 tb no more no less
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2013
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    apple doesn't make hard drives.
     
  7. megadunderhead

    megadunderhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    thank you for informing me of the spelling error stupid mac os x maverick it loves to auto correct incorrectly
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what spelling error as i just stated that apple does not make hard drives which they buy from the hard drive manufactures like seagate & others or ssd drives from intel & others?
     
  9. megadunderhead

    megadunderhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    i typed in stock apple iMac hard drive and it auto corrected it and removed words
     

Share This Page