1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

are all/most modchips compatible with dvd+rs?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by sparrrk, Dec 28, 2003.

1. sparrrk

sparrrk Member

I'm sorry if this is a dumb question but I am new to this kind of stuff. I am interesting in buying a ps2 modchip and was wondering if most of them, like the magic 5 and magic 3.1, are compatible with dvd+r disks. The reason I am asking this is that most websites that I go to say that the chips work with any import or backup ps2 game and then it puts (cd-r, dvd-r) in parenthesis without any mention of dvd+r. I just want to make sure that I don't end up buying one that doesn't support dvd+r disks, as I only have a dvd+r drive. If it makes any difference, I have a V4 ps2 that plays dvd+r backups of movies so I'm assuming I should have no problems with ps2 backups. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you

2. stunn611

stunn611 Regular member

[bold] it is not the mod chip that is compatible with dvd+r, its the ps2 version. v1-v4 only support dvd-r, but i heard some v4 support both dvd-r and dvd+r. v5-v10 support both dvd-r and dvd+r.

3. shockter6

shockter6 Member

hey, i'm also a newb to all this stuff... i got a dvd burner the other day and have nero 6 on my computer. i have a v4 ps2 and want to know if anyone has any advice on what kind of modchip i should buy or if i should get the slide card with swap magic 3. i have no clue what to do about a mod chip. all i want to know how to do is be able to burn my ps2 games and be able to play the burnt ones on my ps2. if anyone can help i would appriciate it

4. Dany22

Dany22 Member

Shockter,