1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Are region codes removed when I make DVDR copies of my movies?

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by brh996, Jul 31, 2003.

  1. brh996

    brh996 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Or does this depend on the method I use to copy them?

    If I use something simple like DVDXcopy to preserve all the menus etc. will the region code still be there?
     
  2. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    DVD Shrink and DVD2One remove region coding. DVDXcopy i dont use at all.
     
  3. brh996

    brh996 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why don't you like DVD Xcopy?

     
  4. ken0042

    ken0042 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Here's my issues with DVDXcopy:

    (1) You cannot make a copy of your backup.
    (2) You get an additional warning on top of the FBI warnings.
    (3) I have run into issues with playing back DVDxcopy discs in stand alone players.
    (4) I haven't used DVDxcopy much because of reason #3, but one thing I like is being able to get rid of the menus and extras and reduce the amount of compression.
     
  5. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I never once said i didnt like it, i said i didnt use it :)

    I do, however, agree with all that Ken said on the matter
     
  6. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    and its like a hundred pounds worth of nonsence...

    there are free and much better apps!

    Thx...

    hi and do you really think the makers and owners of this program use it? i think not they use dvd shrink! its ten times better! they just want your cash...._X_X_X_X_X_[small]XP 1700 TBred [o/c 2004mhz = 12X167/33 = FSB-334mhz]
    A7V8X SATA150/RAID 2x80 gig [Bios 1012]
    HERCULES 3D PROPHET [9700 Pro]
    XMS Corsair Platinum pc3500 2x512 1024 meg
    ENERMAX PSU 550watts
    [​IMG] [/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2003
  7. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well said old chum, well said :)
     
  8. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    LOL - I was in one should keep my mouth shut really?

    OH! Oriphus just a quick word on your website tutes and stuff!

    EXCELLANT matey! i have been flicking through it! its great, plz plz keep up the good work! as i piont people like today to it and it gets there job done!

    you should be a MOD like that dela! come to mention it dela hasnt been on much? now hes a mod! Haha....

    Thx.....
     
  9. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Many Thanks for the praise. I have quite a few tutorials i want added to it and a lot of media tests. I hope to get through some of that this week. Im getting behind a bit because i have a university project due in. I was pondering over changing the format of the website to a flash based program, though it would be slower on 56k. I therefore dont think i will. what you think?
     
  10. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    yes i see what you mean on flash! i used 2 instances of flash on my index page but they were kept down in size! for 56k just takes a few more secs though...

    but it can be a pain as sometimes...

    i would keep it small and sweet! i have 56k at present and your site loads in quick! but i do get 50/52 on it! alot dont!

    Thx...
     
  11. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Yes , make it flash

    Sod those 56k prehistoric users (j/k) !!: )
     
  12. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    lol - ill probably keep it as it is for now. Maybe put a flash intro on it or something just.
     
  13. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Sod those 56k prehistoric users (j/k) !!: )

    Thx ;-[|)
     
  14. thothboy

    thothboy Guest

    DVDDecrypter can also remove region codes very easily. Just go into the 'tools' menu, go to 'settings' and set the RCE Protection to the region of your source DVD.
    Then DVDDecrypter will decrypt your DVD and you'll get region-free files.
    peace,
    dave
     

Share This Page