1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

are these DVD Shrink errors correct?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by sascrunch, Jul 8, 2007.

1. sascrunch

sascrunch Guest

Hello,
    Out of the blue I started receiving DVD Shrink errors on everything I try to copy. Even in the instances of a multi-disc set of TV programs that I am backing-up for myself, where I was half-way through the set, only to have the remaining discs be met with errors. Finally, I tried shrinking a disc which I had already made a copy of and I encouontered the same errors, which clearly hadn't been there the first time, as proven by my success. My discs aren't dirty, I've tried 2 different DVD drives, and I've been using DVD Shrink for a couple of years without any problems at all. All of this leads me to believe that there is something other than encryption causing this, especially since the DVDs in question are about 5 years old. The two errors are below, but does anyone have any suggestions as to what I might investigate or do?
    Thanks.

DVD Shrink encountered an error and cannot continue this
    operation.

CDvdCSS::Read failed!

The reason is: Copy Protection Error - The read failed because the sector is

encrypted.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

DVD Shrink encountered an error and cannot continue.

Copy protection error

The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error.

2. johnl123

johnl123 Regular member

Last edited: Jul 8, 2007
  3. sascrunch

sascrunch Guest

How do you explain that I'm unable to shrink a DVD which I had no problems shrinking previously?

4. johnl123

johnl123 Regular member

Well, that is odd since the errors seem to point to a copy protect problem? Try uninstalling shrink, then reinstall and see if that helped.

You really should try DVDFab, shrink is outdated.