1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

are these Mp3's? or not?

Discussion in 'Audio' started by jaredB, Mar 6, 2007.

1. jaredB

jaredB Member

Ok, first of all, I know I am new to this. No need to point it out. However, I think my problem might be something other than a newbie problem but I am not sure. Story is, I recently have been experimenting with torrents as an alternative to limewire which i have used for a while now. In experimenting with this i downloaded a few mp3's to see how it works. I did the whole thing, downloaded the torrent file and then opened it with the client i chose and received the files in my folder. The files have a .mp3 extension. However they cannot be played by any of the media players i have. I've tried various converters and none of them work. Windows media player 11 says that the file extension does not match the file format. Even when you look at the properties of the mp3's themselves it shows the size of them to be correct. I have search through many forums and asked many questions and none of the responses i have received have been relevant. I am just looking for a straight forward answer. The question has come up that they might be corrupt but i have tried downloading different files from different locations and gotten the same results. Again, if this is a big newbie question, which im sure it is, im sorry, but i cannot find any answers to it anywhere else. Most people i have seen that asked this same question had a problem with their videos they downloaded or stopped at the .torrent file and wondered why it didnt work. I consider myself to be pretty computer savvy but still have to be told or showed some things if i have never done them before. Anyways, sorry about the rant but i am just anxious to figure this whole thing out for obvious reasons.
    Thanks

2. undine

undine Regular member

3. jaredB

jaredB Member