1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ashman or Devilhunt??

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by BelleB, Oct 13, 2004.

  1. BelleB

    BelleB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I downloaded the DVDLoader from devilhunts sig line and something isnt working right....

    heres whats happening..
    i insert swap magic
    wait for insert disk
    fliptop open and insert dvdloader
    press x
    starts spinning (not like a madman thank goodness)
    the USB screen comes up that says insert new disk and press x but the dvd loader disk doesnt stop spinning until i press x. so i press x and get the extra options then i insert the game (any game) and press x
    have tried it on ALL the options... it never works.
    always locks up and wont go farther. even on games I KNOW have worked before with cd loader.
    so now what do i do?

    i burned dvdloader using alcohol 120
    should i have used something else??
    HELP PLEASE!!!!!
     
  2. Ashman1

    Ashman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    After the USB screen comes up and asks you to insert the new disk, press the eject button and re-insert your SWAP MAGIC disk and press X. You should get a red screen for a couple of seconds and then it will ask to put in your game via EA method (which means using the Fliptop).

    -Insert Swap Magic via Fliptop, wait for Insert Disk
    -Insert DVD Loader via Fliptop, press X
    -Insert Swap Magic via eject button, press X
    -Insert Back Up Game via Fliptop, press X

    You could also have a bad copy of DVD Loader.
    Here is were I got mine.

    http://www.consolepoint.com/index.html?lang=en-us&target=d12.html

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Windows Xp
    Sony’s Internal DVD±RW Drive DRU-530A
    PS2 v5 Flip Top with SMD 2.0
    Media: Ritek DVD-R G04 4x
    DVD Decryptor, Nero & Alcohol 120%
    CD/DVD Generator, ISO Buster
    CD & DVD Loader[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2004
  3. BelleB

    BelleB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks so much
    will try that asap
     
  4. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    all i would add to ashman1's post is after you insert your swapmagic dvd using the eject button wait for it to say ps2 dvd in lower left of tv screen before pressing x
     
  5. BelleB

    BelleB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks so much guys
    that worked
    im still having problems with the three games that were not working before this... they still arent working but i guess something may have gone haywire in the burning phase. I will try to back them up again and see if it works.

    thanks for all your help
     
  6. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    what other games are causing you the problems?
     
  7. BelleB

    BelleB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have three that I cant get to run from backups

    jak and daxter
    stitch experiment 626
    motor mayhem
     
  8. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    have you tried using any of the sub menu features in dvd loader, the most common two used are beta 3 and 5v3 no pn option's
     
  9. BelleB

    BelleB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    not yet but i will give it a try and let you know what happens... thanks sorry to be a pain still trying to learn all this stuff
     
  10. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    your welcome i try my best to help when i can
     
  11. BelleB

    BelleB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey devilhunt
    i tried using the submenu options but it still didnt work. Im not sure if I am doing it correctly or not.
    This is my process please correct me where wrong

    insert swap magic (it says insert disk)
    open fliptop insert dvdloader click x
    it says insert disk and press x to load
    i click x now and choose the submenu options (have tried both) i click x
    i hit the EJECT button to stop it and get it out
    then insert swap magic again wait for it to say insert disk via ea method
    insert game
    still not working....

    any ideas?
     
  12. BelleB

    BelleB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok heres the weird thing
    today none of my backups will work with dvdloader anymore
    the ones that loaded after the first swap magic disk still work but if you had to do a double swap and use dvd loader they now no longer work. Even ones that used to work now dont.... ugh this is getting frustrating...
     
  13. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    you seem to have the boot method correct, what is happening when you try to boot games using dvd loader? what dvdr discs are you using? have you tried giving the laser a clean?
     
  14. BelleB

    BelleB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    when i try to use dvd loader i get a message that says error cannot read disk. i am getting this message even on disks that have worked before when i was using cdloader which now barely ever works and just spins so wildly it knocks the doorfront off the ps2 every time it tries to load. its bad. my dvd disks are supermedia 4x

    the laser is clean.

     

Share This Page