1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asus EEE PC 900

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by StuntZer0, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. StuntZer0

    StuntZer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    its not my laptop but its an Asus EEE PC 900. When turned on it black screens. Ive looked into it a bit and think its the hard drive, the hard drive light does still flash a bit/. Im not sure if its spossed to flash how it is or not. But is there anything else it could be with an easy fix?
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    if all it shows is a black screen then most likely is not a hard drive issue. nothing shows on the screen after you turn the netbook on?
     
  3. StuntZer0

    StuntZer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It has a command prompt kind of thing... You can still type and stuff but that's about it.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can you do the "f8" routine to get the safemode menu up?
     
  5. StuntZer0

    StuntZer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nope... Doesn't seem like it. It put a bunch of 1'2, '9's and ^'s on the command prompt thing though
     
  6. StuntZer0

    StuntZer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  8. StuntZer0

    StuntZer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    moved to correct forum.
     
  10. StuntZer0

    StuntZer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My bad. Wasn't 100% where I should post it.
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem. still don't think it is a hard drive issue unless it is developing bad sectors thereby corrupting linux.
     
  12. StuntZer0

    StuntZer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Im not sure. I researched a bit and tried a few things suggested. Holding the power switch for a while after taking the battery out or something like that... I dunno what else I could try.
     
  13. StuntZer0

    StuntZer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  14. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    28
    missed this.. been away.. to kick up the boot menu I think its <esc> which (assuming grub) will give you boot time options.. really this is a bit special because its running a custom os (last I tested was GOS-Rocket which I didnt like very much) and they have done funky stuff with it to make it "windoze noob" friendly and supposedly foolproof (not!!) .. for all I know it could be some android variant on it.. I know they used all sorts of linux flavours over the production run... try tapping f2 or esc while it boots and see what happens.. or at the prompt a few things like "ver" or "linux-version" can be rather revealing
     

Share This Page