1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Attn: Newbies..if your DMA is OFF or PIO Mode (here is a very easy guide to fix it)

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by alkohol, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    <><> To Enable DMA back on by "uninstalling" its driver(s) by Alkohol <><>

    Right click on My Computer
    [​IMG]



    Click on Properties
    [​IMG]



    Click on Hardware, then Device Manager
    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    If under “Transfer Mode” you have PIO, then you need to click on Driver, then Uninstall, OK and “reboot/restart” your computer. Don’t worry, once restarted, Windows should automatically reinstalled them back.
    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]




    [​IMG]



    If under “Transfer Mode” you have PIO, then you need to click on Driver, then Uninstall, OK and “reboot/restart” your computer. Don’t worry, once restarted, Windows should automatically reinstalled them back.
    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]




    Enjoy it!!

    EDIT: Info added by loco

    You can use the following VBS script to reset your DMA mode in windows.

    Be warned that this COULD damage your computer and therefore you use it at your own risk.

    http://rapidshare.com/files/14861593/resetdma.vbs.html

    Instructions:

    1. Despite any warnings click on the [Open] or [Execute] buttons as required to execute the file resetdma.vbs.
    2. If the program found any ATA channel to reset, reboot your computer and test all drives.
    3. If the problem is still not solved, set the offending channel to PIO manually, reboot your computer, set the channel back to DMA, and reboot again.




    Code:
     ' Visual Basic Script program to reset the DMA status of all ATA drives
    
    
    
        ' Copyright © 2006 Hans-Georg Michna
    
    
    
        ' Version 2007-04-04
    
    
    
        ' Works in Windows XP, probably also in Windows 2000 and NT.
    
        ' Does no harm if Windows version is incompatible.
    
    
    
        If MsgBox("This program will now reset the DMA status of all ATA drives with Windows drivers." _
    
          & vbNewline & "Windows will redetect the status after the next reboot, therefore this procedure" _
    
          & vbNewline & "should be harmless.", _
    
            vbOkCancel, "Program start message") _
    
          = vbOk Then
    
    
    
        RegPath = "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\"
    
        ValueName1Master = "MasterIdDataChecksum"
    
        ValueName1Slave = "SlaveIdDataChecksum"
    
        ValueName2Master = "UserMasterDeviceTimingModeAllowed"
    
        ValueName2Slave = "UserSlaveDeviceTimingModeAllowed"
    
        ValueName3 = "ResetErrorCountersOnSuccess"
    
        MessageText = "The following ATA channels have been reset:"
    
        MessageTextLen0 = Len(MessageText)
    
        ConsecutiveMisses = 0
    
        Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    
    
    
        For i = 0 to 999
    
          RegSubPath = Right("000" & i, 4) & "\"
    
    
    
          ' Master
    
    
    
          Err.Clear
    
          On Error Resume Next
    
          WshShell.RegRead RegPath & RegSubPath & ValueName1Master
    
          errMaster = Err.Number
    
          On Error Goto 0
    
          If errMaster = 0 Then
    
            On Error Resume Next
    
            WshShell.RegDelete RegPath & RegSubPath & ValueName1Master
    
            WshShell.RegDelete RegPath & RegSubPath & ValueName2Master
    
            On Error Goto 0
    
            MessageText = MessageText & vbNewLine & "Master"
    
          End If
    
    
    
          ' Slave
    
    
    
          Err.Clear
    
          On Error Resume Next
    
    
          WshShell.RegRead RegPath & RegSubPath & ValueName1Slave
    
          errSlave = Err.Number
    
          On Error Goto 0
    
          If errSlave = 0 Then
    
            On Error Resume Next
    
            WshShell.RegDelete RegPath & RegSubPath & ValueName1Slave
    
            WshShell.RegDelete RegPath & RegSubPath & ValueName2Slave
    
            On Error Goto 0
    
            If errMaster = 0 Then
    
              MessageText = MessageText & " and "
    
            Else
    
              MessageText = MessageText & vbNewLine
    
            End If
    
            MessageText = MessageText & "Slave"
    
          End If
    
    
    
          If errMaster = 0 Or errSlave = 0 Then
    
            On Error Resume Next
    
            WshShell.RegWrite RegPath & RegSubPath & ValueName3, 1, "REG_DWORD"
    
            On Error Goto 0
    
            ChannelName = "unnamed channel " & Left(RegSubPath, 4)
    
            On Error Resume Next
    
            ChannelName = WshShell.RegRead(RegPath & RegSubPath & "DriverDesc")
    
            On Error Goto 0
    
            MessageText = MessageText & " of " & ChannelName & ";"
    
            ConsecutiveMisses = 0
    
          Else
    
            ConsecutiveMisses = ConsecutiveMisses + 1
    
            If ConsecutiveMisses >= 32 Then Exit For ' Don't search unnecessarily long.
    
          End If
    
        Next ' i
    
    
    
        If Len(MessageText) <= MessageTextLen0 Then
    
          MessageText = "No resettable ATA channels with Windows drivers found. Nothing changed."
    
        Else
    
          MessageText = MessageText & vbNewline _
    
            & "Please reboot now to reset and redetect the DMA status."
    
        End If
    
    
    
        MsgBox MessageText, vbOkOnly, "Program finished normally"
    
    
    
        End If ' MsgBox(...) = vbOk
    
    
    
        ' End of Visual Basic Script program
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2008
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. gronimo18

    gronimo18 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    o so both my dma are on on both contollers but on my secondary it say mult-word dma mode 2 on the current transfer mode
     
  4. gronimo18

    gronimo18 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    o so both my dma are on on both contollers but on my secondary it say mult-word dma mode 2 on the current transfer mode what does this mean sorry for the double
     
  5. 9mmruger1

    9mmruger1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Once again, alkohol, you have done a great service.

    Cheers
     
  6. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @gronimo18

    As long as it doesn't say PIO Mode, then you're OK, so don't worry too much. Different hardware controllers and different burners drivers may vary on the DMA Mode, some are 5, 4 and 2. Hope this helps!
     
  7. gronimo18

    gronimo18 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thank you
     
  8. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You're welcome, glad I could help.
     
  9. jr1423

    jr1423 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    alkohol, I was wondering how the DMA gets shut off. I have been burning DVD's for several months now & have no problems till the other day, when I put a dvdrw that I did on my dvd recorder. When I put it in decrypter & starting ripping it took about 3 times as long as did before. The read speed stayed at 2.0 & below. Always before it was at about 7.0. Any way got it done & thought the dvdrw was bad, but after running it thru Nero Cd/dvd it was fine. Then looked at my primary & secondary ide channel, the primary was O.K., but the secondary channel, device 0 was on PIO.
    Always on DMA mode 2 before. Clicked on Transfer mode & choosed DMA if Avaibable, but still stayed on PIO. Shut down computer, but still didn't change, so did your method & bingo it is now back to DMA Mode 2.
    So what happened that it got shut off to PIO?
     
  10. whompus

    whompus Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    When windows encounter a lot of read errors it will default to pio.
     
  11. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @jr1423

    Glad you've got your problem all sorted out now. Like whompus said; when you have more than 6 failed burns with Nero, Windows automatically reverse your DMA Mode to PIO Mode or Off Mode (at some point).
     
  12. gwendolin

    gwendolin Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Hi alkohol, how's it going. Once again you are makimg things look simple, I now have another thread for reference purposes. Cheers.
     
  13. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I'm doing great. How about you? How's Nero 7?

    Yeah, I wrote this guide last November, so I can reference Newbies or those that I try to help with DMA issues to this guide, especially at this forum (Nero).

    See you around buddy.
     
  14. gwendolin

    gwendolin Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @alkohol, I have a couple of movies to back up tonight so I'll see how things go.
    I've had a little time off so havent done much, also had comp problems.
    Once again excellent work,BTW I checked out a couple of guides by thysuck, seems to have a talent also. Cheers
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/260461
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2006
  15. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @gwendolin

    He's pretty talented indeed. However, his guide is to convert DVD into AVI though, which is the opposite of what we do (transcode/convert AVI to DVD). I don't mind watching AVI movies, since my Philips DVP642/37 is DivX, AVI certified, but sometimes it's having issues reading them AVI or DivX directly from the player itself for some odd reasons. Therefore, I would rather have Nero Vision to transcode/convert all of my AVI movies into DVD, so I can enjoy them movies on my big screen 55" Widescreen SONY HDTV with my sons. Most of my AVI projects are "anime and or Japanese animation series" only.

    In addtition, I'd already knew how to "import/convert" DVDs (movies) into Ipod, which I think is awesome. I've just finished imported Madagascar and House Of The Flying Daggers (both are awesome movies) into my Nana Ipod 60GB last week.

    I might put on a really nice and simple guide on how to "import/convert" movies/dvds into Ipod using Nero Recode 2 and Nero Digital later on when I have the times.

    Have a great day and enjoy backing your AVI projects with Nero Vision.
     
  16. flygirl

    flygirl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I too have had probs with the DMA being off and have followed this thread.

    However, when looking at Nero Infotool, I do not have a line which says "DMA ON", but do have a line which says "Autorun On"

    Should this work? and if not, then is there another way of getting the DMA onto the "On" position?

    Flygirl
     
  17. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @flygirl

    What does your Primary & Secondary Channel said? That's what it counts, if it says PIO or Not available, then you still need to "uninstall" it's driver(s) Look at picture for reference:

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2006
  18. Seanbawn

    Seanbawn Guest

    Wow, posted query a few days ago re Nero Buffer Level, saw this thread and followed instructions. I am a happy bunny again
    many thanks to you brainy posters out there from an aged one
     
  19. cyclist

    cyclist Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Another thankful reader.

    I've been burning successfully for a couple of years. A couple of days ago I made my first movie from an AVI file off of my digital camera (and tried to make a DVD). I got horrible results (choppy audio). The image on the hard drive was fine. Then I discovered that I could not successfully burn CDs, either (see below). To complicate things, when I did a full erase of a DVD+RW (to do some testing), Nero completed the erasure in 17 minutes (normal for 4x) but then hung (had to kill it in task manager). It left my DVD/CD burner so locked up that I had to reboot my system (Windows XP) to use it again.

    I ended up spending the whole next day (today) troubleshooting my drive (Sony DRU700-A). While seeing if I could burn data DVDs (ISO), I noticed the burn taking forever (27 minutes for 2.5MBs). Then CD check took 24 minutes to read it - while using almost all of my CPU. That's what brought me (indirectly) to this post.

    Now I believe I know what happened. That CD coaster was caused by a bad batch of Sony CDR's (starting at about the last 15 of a spindle of 50). I had burned a backup of some files to CD before I did any of the above and created a coaster (locked up CD Check when I checked it). In the process, Windows must have knocked my Secondary IDE bus into PIO only mode (something I finally realized after reading this - and now recall having to deal with once before, a long time back).

    In the end I followed the above procedure (uninstalled my Secondary IDE bus drivers) and it solved [bold]all[/bold] of my problems. I have re-burned the home video successfully, my burn speeds are back up to normal, and CD check runs normal.

    Those bad Sony CDRs are a real disappointment (Sony's are one of the most dependable brands of CDR's I've ever used), but I can live with that. I got them on sale for about 20¢ apiece (two 50 count spindles for $20) and I don't use many CDs these days.

    So .... I'm adding another thanks to Alkohol for posting these clear instructions. It pulled me through. I was sure I had a bad drive, but this procedure fixed everything.


     
  20. shaheen75

    shaheen75 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    please help!
    i have 2 primary channel,2 dvd drives, the master one has dma on but slave doesnt, hiow do i configure that, tried most of the method posted by Alkohol.please help
     
  21. help123

    help123 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    after following all the steps i checked the primary and secondary drivers and they were still on DMA. shouldn't it be on PIO?
     

Share This Page