1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

audiocodec

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by RealDude, Apr 9, 2003.

  1. RealDude

    RealDude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,
    I was trying to watch an videoclip with Windows Media Player, but there was no audio. It said that I needed an audiocodec which the programme would find, if I pressed webhelp, but it didn't.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks.
     
  2. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Was this video clip ripped from a DVD ?

    Windows Media Player is not a good DVD Player
    Cyberlink Power DVD XP 4.0 is much better.

    (the time slide control in WMP makes the video freeze up----tried & tested).
     
  3. RealDude

    RealDude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    Thanks for the prompt reply. I don't think it was a ripped DVD, because it shows a Fox logo. I also tried to wtach it with other players and it didn't work. Anyway, I'd like to burn it as a video-cd and need to get the audio problem fixed beforehand.

    RealDude.
     
  4. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well just open up a P2P filesharing prog...like Kazaa or Fileshare & download all codecs you can lay your hands on.

    They're not big , so they wont take you long to d/l.

     
  5. RealDude

    RealDude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Cool.
    And then, once I have downloaded them?
     
  6. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I've never had the problem you're reffering to but I should imagine that once you installed them (to PROGRAM FILES on O/S Drive) that they'll automatically be there for your encoding.

    I'm certainly no expert on this matter though.

    herbs
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2003
  7. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    P.S.
    The reason I'm not able to be specific is because this is ...DVD Ripping forum.

    For more help you might want to have a look here...

    http://www.vcdhelp.com/

    Thank You___Please !

     
  8. RealDude

    RealDude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Dude,

    Thanks for your help. I checked the site you suggested and found something. Got it fixed with Virtual Dub.
    Thanks again,

    RealDude
     
  9. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Glad to be of service !: )-~

     

Share This Page