1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Auto dvd backup while I'm sleeping??

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Theswamp, Nov 15, 2007.

1. Theswamp

Theswamp Member

Howdy all. Another newbie here. I've managed to backup a couple of dvds so far, but it's been a cludgy process for me.

What I would like to do is have a setup where I can insert my source dvd and my blank dvd into my drives, run the software, go to bed, and wake up the next morning to a nicely backed up dvd. Will AnyDVD and CloneDVD-2 do this?

Thanks for your feedback!
    Ed

2. gwendolin

gwendolin Senior member

No, you will be required to do the following using this combo
    a. Insert original DVD into drive
    b. Allow Clone DVD rip the movie
    c. Insert blank DVD and then allow it to burn

Same process if you use Nero Recode/AnyDVD combo......not unless you have 2 drives (which I dont) and then it might be possible.

Last edited: Nov 15, 2007
  3. ZoSoIV

ZoSoIV Active member

yeah it will work. do the process and put a check mark in the box that says Automatically shut down the computer when done and you have your backup done in the morning plus your PC will be shut down!

[​IMG]

edit: you have two drives right? transcode with one drive and burn in other drive and this works fine. I do it all the time

Last edited: Nov 16, 2007
  4. gwendolin

gwendolin Senior member

This is the clincher!!!

5. Theswamp

Theswamp Member

Thanks for the replies!

Well, I've cleared the first hurdle. :) Yes, I have a dvd burner and I've just installed a dvd player taken from a mothballed Dell. Both are working well.

I guess I'm getting too picky, but...does ANYDVD and CLONEDVD-2 have an option for ripping and burning *without* turning off the computer. I tend to lean toward the "light bulb blows when you flip the switch" camp. Plus I'm a bit impatient and hate to wait for the computer to boot up in the morning. :)

Thanks again!
    Ed