1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

avi conversion stutters on stand alone

Discussion in 'Copy DVD to DVDR' started by BSurgeon, Mar 19, 2005.

1. BSurgeon

BSurgeon Guest

Firstly, go easy on me because Im a complete newbie to this.

-I downloaded an avi file (I think its an xviD) and converted it to a format that would play on my toshiba sd-330e stand alone player by using VSO's DIvxtodvd software.

- I burnt the VIDEO_TS IFO file to a dvd-r using VSO's CopytoDVD (DVD-video menu option).

-The burn process completed but when I play back on my stand alone it plays back very jerky and pixelates and sometimes freezes.

-The dvd-r plays back on another stand alone and my pc dvd-rom drive with no jerkiness.

Can anyone tell me what I may be doing wrong?

2. BSurgeon

BSurgeon Guest

Any help here people before I start my own coaster business?

I even tried authoring the converted files using DVDShrink and TMPGEnc DVD Author and then burnt using nero 6 and still my stand alones reject the dvds.....Desperation!

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 20, 2005
  3. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi BSurgeon welcome to aD,

My first guess would be your media. DVD media is more important when dealing with DVD Video than in any application you'll ever use.

Eliminating errors and going for the "Best burn" ~ some Tips ~

When attempting to achieve the best burn, consider reducing that burn speed to the 4X area. Iffin you have a new 16X, DL burner, you'll probably do well at 6X. It is my feeling that 8X and over leads to occasional coasters, even when using top grade stuff such as Verbatim DataLife Plus media.