1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Avi to dvd without losing quality please help

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by leesom, Apr 7, 2007.

1. leesom

leesom Guest

hey alright heres my problem i am converting a dvdrip to dvd but i cant seem to find a program that will just convert great without gettin pixelated and darker if anybody knows of a program that will do this can u please let me know thanks

2. BigKing1

BigKing1 Member

Hi mate

This sounds similar to the problem I'm getting. The picture looks fine but only at certain bright frames it looks darker and pixelated.

I'm pretty new to all this but it looks like the frame is sort of overexposed in some way, like you would get with a digital camera.

Is there a setting in the Avi2Dvd software that would normalise the picture or something, if that is where the problem lies??

3. attar

attar Senior member

I'm unclear about this 'dvdrip'.
    Did you rip a DVD to .iso file or DVD folder and now wish to fit it to a standard DVD with maximum quality?

DVD Shrink will take an .iso or DVD folder and fit it to a dvd with excellent quality.

It can be optioned to burn the output with Nero or (even better) DVD Decrypter.

4. georgeluv

georgeluv Regular member

this is all i do all day long :)

i, like you, download certain files that may have the "dvdrip" tag in their names.... hehe... and i always am trying to get them on dvd for archival purposes without loosing any quality.

this is how i do it and why you are experiencing what you are experiencing:

first thing you must realize is that the divx/xvid codecs are not designed for quality they are designed for size. i have loads of experience with xvid but im sure the same applies to all avi compilers.