1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

avi to mpeg

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by goshz, May 29, 2007.

  1. goshz

    goshz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi..i need some help.
    i'm trying to convert avi movie to mpeg using tmpg.
    i burn it to vcd.
    the video is great but there's no sound when i play it.
    what should i do.
    did i done anything wrong.

    the same thing goes to my dat file.
    i convert using vcdgear but there's no sound.
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Does the AVI have audio?
     
  3. aldaco12

    aldaco12 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If the AVI has Dolby Surround audio (AC3) , TMPGenc cannot decode it.
    Load the AVI with VirtualDubMod and do File___File Information.
    You should see if that AVI has an audio stream and what it is.

    If the audio is AC3, you have two possibilities:

    1) You can install fcchandler's AC3 ACM decompressor http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/AC3ACM/ . If you install the decompressor, your PC should become able to decode AC3 loading it with any application.

    2) You must extract the AC3 stream , then convert it to MP2, then multiplex it to the 'mute' MPG TMPGenc created.
    Do so so:
    2.1) first you have to see if you have a fixed A/V delay, like DVD have (this delay is corrected during play, but you must take it ito account, if you demux the AC3 stream).
    So, first get Mediainfo http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=86862&package_id=90341 , load the AVI, choose the Tree mode to view the information. Let's say that, on in the Audio #0 part of the information window
    , you'see: Video0 delay : 163ms (that is, something). Every time you see a nonzero delay, you must take it into account on step 2.2).
    2.2) When you encode AC3 48 kHz --> MP2 44.1 kHz you must take into account the 163 ms delay, and for this reason I use HeadAC3he (alas, Dark Avenger's site is down, but you'll get it easily).
    Choose MP2 44.1 kHz as destination format and insert (before encoding) 163 ms in the 'Delay' box which, is immediately after the filename.
    2.3) Multimplex MP2 and 'mute MPG' (a M1V) with TMPGenc (File___MPEG Tools).
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  4. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    If the AVI has audio and deferring to aldaco12 in these matters, I want to stress that if the audio is AC3 and the decompressor is installed as shown in step 1, then TMPGEnc should create a valid (MPEG1) VCD file.

    As a side note, if the compressor was not installed then when the file was loaded the audio source information would be blank.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  5. goshz

    goshz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yup..the avi have an audio.
    but guys, i don't know how to read it..
    i don't know wht the info means.
    sory,i'm new to this kind of stuff.

    but if the audio is not ac3,there shouldn't be any problem right..
     
  6. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Run 'GSpot' and drag the AVI on to it.
    Look to the right and it will show the audio type.

    If your file has AC3 audio (but there is no 'Decompressor' installed), the 'Audio Source' will be empty when you bring the video into TMPGEnc.
    You need to install the decompressor to use the file with TMPGenc.
    Once it can see the audio, it will show in the 'Audio Source'



    http://www.headbands.com/gspot/v26x/GSpot270a.zip


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. goshz

    goshz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the avi encoded with an mp3 vbr.
    so what should i do..
    do i need to decompress it..
     
  8. palapala

    palapala Guest

    use the imtoo mpeg encoder to have a try, it is a shareware, so it has the time limited, but the features are full vertion.
    So that you could confirm if it could help you
     
  9. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  10. aldaco12

    aldaco12 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    @attar :
    - exactly what I was saying. Unless you have AC3 ACM Decompressor on your PC, TMPGenc cannot decode AC3. Maybe I hadn't explained well...

    @attar and goshz: directly loading and AVI with VBR audio will cause the output MPG become more and more out of sync.
    The right pocedure is
    a) load that AVI with VirtualDub. Set Audio___Full processing mode; do File___Save WAV
    b) on TMPGenc, once you loaded that AVI, click [audio source] and load, instead of the same AVI file (which is the default), the WAV you made on 1)

    Note 1: when, in step 1), you load an AVI with VBR, Virtualdub tells you a warning which you follow exactly by doing 1) and 2) [decompress to WAV the VBR audio then use the decompressed WAV instead of the MP3]
    Note 2: what I just said was clearly written i the FAQ....
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2007
  11. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    @aldaco12
    Call it dumb luck, but I never run into the problem with VBR and TMPGenc.
    So I looked at the environmental settings and noted that under VFAPI I have Direct Show set to the highest priority.
    To test, I lowered the priority and sure enough the output file had no sound.Put it back to highest and I have sound again.
    Someone should write a book.
     
  12. goshz

    goshz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've try many times but i still cannot get into it.
    i've install all the programs but when i save to wav,it said that no audio decompressor could be found to decompress the source audio format.
    is there any other way..
     
  13. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    You are getting this 'decompressor' message from virtualDub?

    Load the file into VirtualDub.
    Then 'File' > 'File Information'
    In the information panel, under 'Audio Stream' and 'Compression', what does it say?
     
  14. goshz

    goshz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes..i get it when i run virtualdub.
    the information said "unknown(tag 0055)".
    all my avis file got the same thing.

    the only way i can do is to set the audio to direct stream copy but as the result i will get sync error.
     
  15. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  16. goshz

    goshz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    since i got problem using virtualdub,i tried to use avi2wav but the audio is out of sync.

    i never try this mp3 method before..
    hope this will be ok.
    anyway,thanx alot for the guide.
     
  17. goshz

    goshz Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i used your method but still got the problem.
    then i tried using goldwave and save my audio to wav.
    finally it's work for me..there goes my problem.

    thanx for your help.
    i read alot of your thread in here..it's help for a newbie like me.
     
  18. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Not familiar with Goldwave, did you end up using the original AVI + the WAV from Goldwave in TMPGEnc?
    I must try it,if it's free;)
     

Share This Page