1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AVI-Video File Corrupted

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by igbyslocumb, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. igbyslocumb

    igbyslocumb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was following the instructions on this thread: forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/625409 because it seemed pretty much my problem, until some point...

    Anyway I couldnt open the file, just as dan0el couldnt!

    The difference is that I was recording this video on my webcam when my neighbor thrown a brick on my laptop (the one that was recording). Now I need this as police evidence, but the video in which she threw the brick on the laptop is the one corrupted!

    Guys, Im freaking desperate, and I already spent the night trying VirdtualDub, VirtualDubMod, VirtualDubMPEG and all the sugestions on the thread I mentioned above.

    I just have to believe that has to be a way of a 1,96GB video having at least one usable frame.

    Just one more information, before she threw the brick on the computer and it felt, she had already thrown a bunch of other bricks in my property, so for the police it doesnt have to be exactly that last second of film, but any part that shows her throwing stuff. The computer is working fine, I had to connect to a monitor because the screen is busted, but other than that is normal!

    Thank you guys in advance!!
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,275
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    98
  4. igbyslocumb

    igbyslocumb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where is this forum?

    When I open a video made with the same webcam it is saved as AVI and when I show the FileInformation on VirtualDub is says:


    Decompressor: internal DIB decoder (YuY2)

    I don't think this is the codec, but I doin't know how nto checak.. I already tried right-click, Properties > Details... but It doesn't show!

    thank you!!
     
  5. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,275
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    98
  6. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,275
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    98
    See if MediaInfo can identify the codec.
     

Share This Page