1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Avidemux and others can't handle, re-code or play 1080i file from Samsung HMX-H100p HD camcorder

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by dtoast, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. dtoast

    dtoast Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Basically, I am having the same problem as this guy:
    http://forums.cnet.com/5208-13973_102-0.html?threadID=365199
    But there's not much help there, so I thought I'd post a thread here.

    There is no software I can find that will encode this without problems, and only Windows Media Player play it OK, and the display on the camera is fine, but any other software makes many blocks and artefacts. I have tried many methods and codecs to work with this - Sony Vegas, Avidemux, XMedia Recode, Mplayer, VLC etc.

    I am using Win7 home x64, 4Gb RAM, all updates, fast AMD quad core processor, also tried on Win XP etc.

    Is there some way of "fixing" the interlace on these files before editing them? Even the "cut and copy without transcode" mode of Avidemux can't handle it.

    Here's 5Mb of example file, raw from the camcorder, untouched.
    http://www.digitaltoast.co.uk/files/small_1080i_samsung_hmx-h100p_example_interlaced_artefacts.MP4
    Play in Windows Media Player and it looks fine.
    Anything else, or try and edit in Sony Vegas...hopeless.

    No reply from Samsung to help request.
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I know next to nothing about this type of file so I cannot be of much help - but I opened the file in VirtualDub and AviDemux using an AviSynth script.

    In the script, any line beginning with # can be omitted.
    It's a text file saved with an .avs extension.

    Haali Media Splitter and AviSynth are installed in my PC.

    To open in VirtualDub, drag the .avs file into VirtualDub.

    To load in AviDemux, locate and run AvsProxy_GUI (in the Avidemux installed location).
    Browse to the .avs file then click 'Create Proxy'

    #script starts
    DirectShowSource("C:\Documents and Settings\Superuser\Desktop\small.mp4")
    #change the above file path as required
    #uses installed AviSynth
    #http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Avisynth
    #
    # installed Haali Media Splitter
    #http://www.videohelp.com/tools/Haali_Media_Splitter
    #ends
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2010
  3. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Do you think this is any better than what you get with your players(I used VLC and played it back even at 1/3 speed and didn't see artifacts)?:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?2tdx0ldiyx2
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2010
  4. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    My earlier post referring to Avsproxy in Avidemux should be disregarded:Avsproxy doesn't support audio.
     
  5. dtoast

    dtoast Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello again;

    thanks for the suggestions. I tried various things, but with the help of Mulder of Avidemux fame, I was able to try a new version:

    The installer said version 2.5.2.5660

    On the official site, I thought I was going to have to make my own build, but some quick googling found this:
    http://avidemux.razorbyte.com.au/

    I downloaded the R5830 and it worked perfectly! At last!
     
  6. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I took your source and experienced problems with picture breaking
    up. After demuxing/remuxing with Yamb, it played perfectly.

    This probably has something to do with the software installed.
    ON my box, an older version of FFDshow handled it OK after the remux.
     

Share This Page