1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Azureus problems, help/info required please

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by top_score, Aug 4, 2007.

1. top_score

top_score Member

I have spent about 3days with various guides etc on how to set Azureus up. Even uninstaled and re-installed it.

Please bear with my as I am new to bit torrent and file sharing. Sorry if the info below is overkill or not the right info, I am trying my best.

My Setup
    Wireless laptop
    AVG, SpybotS&D, AdAware2007, SpywareBlaster, Comodo firewall
    Latest version of Azureus (3.0.1.6)
    Latest Java ( I went to site and updated to latest version a few hours ago)

Router - 2Wire BT2700 HGV
    Connection - BT broadband 8Mb
    Speed Test results: (speedtest.net)
    D/L - 2835 kb/s
    U/L - 279 kb/s

Speed Test results using Azureus inbuilt test:
    Test BTdownload (standard) - 38.2 kb/s
    Test BTupload (standard) - 40.3 kb/s

NAT/Server test:
    Testing port 43687 ... OK !

I get green faces on everything.

The first time I used Azureus I got a download speed of 150 kb/s, now 1 week later I am lucky if I can achieve speeds of 20 kb/s.

My friend uses something called flashFXP on the same network and normally has speed of between 150-200kb/s.

I have tried lots of different torrents, with different seeds:leecher ratios.

I think i have set my router up ok, and I get the same results with either my firewall ON or OFF.

I get the same slow results If my friend uses flashFXP or not (his are allways high), ie me alone on the network.

Was it just lucky to get download speeds of 150 for the first time i used it.

What sort of speeds should I really expect

Where can I go from here to set it up, what am I doing wrong.

Ive looked to see if I am using good or bad torrents, and I think Ive been selectiong good ones, right now I got (20mins in):

seeds - 50(1017)
    peers - 28(960)
    d/l - 6.0 kb/s