1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backing up American DVD

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by Qubert, Feb 8, 2004.

  1. Qubert

    Qubert Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just bought American DVD which plays black and white on my DVD player, is it possible to make back up and change the region code at same? rather than go and buy multiregional DVD player!
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Qubert,

    No reason why you couldn't use DVDShrink 3.1.5 beta4 which will rip your DVD, get rid of the copyright thingy and make your DVD region free as well as set it up, ready for backup. Just download Nero 6.0 - which will work behind the scenes to let Shrink burn your backup on a blank DVD :))

    Here's the stuff you need -

    Shrink download - http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?s=c53155f4dd417b97fb6287581453b338&threadid=32393

    Shrink Guide -
    http://www.chrismccann.co.uk/dvd_shrink_3.htm

    and, download this if you don’t have it - it is what will do the burn for you -

    A 30 day, free, fully functional Nero 6 download can be had here:
    http://www.nero.com/us/631939541422774.php


    Ooohh yea, Welcome to the Neighborhood :))

    Pete

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent 4 CPU 2.84GHz, 1GB RAM.
    340GB HD, 7200 (Maxtor 120, Western 200 & 20.
    4 Drives, JLMS DVD ROM, HP DVD Writer 200j,
    Nec 4X DVD RW ND-1300A & AXV CD/DVD-ROM.
    GeForce4 Ti 4200-128MB, OS– XP sp1.[/small]
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2004
  3. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i don't think the region code has much to do with it. Your dvd player or tv doesnt support NTSC. You probably need to convert it to PAL (do a search, im not sure how to do this).
     
  4. amotion

    amotion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Agree with sly_61019. You should change NTSC to PAL when ripping if you want to play it on DVD player.
     
  5. DaOsT

    DaOsT Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    as sly said sounds like you come from the uk like Me you NEED AN ntsc compatible tv

    example

    one that was produced in the last 4 years by a DECENT manufacteurer

    get back to us:)
     

Share This Page