1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backing up an already backed up disk

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by jtigerr, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. jtigerr

    jtigerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was wondering, I backed up some dvds but I did it at the wrong write speed and now when I play them back it freezes or it just cant read the disk anymore. Now here is my question, can I use those "bad" dvd to make another copy, (one without the playback problems)
    Thanks
     
  2. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Nope you cant. Put your orignal in and re-copy
     
  3. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Unless you riped the DVD to your harddrive with a program and still have the riped DVD you could bring it back into your copy program. but if you did it rite off the disc then insert the DVD again and re-copy.
     
  4. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Sounds like a media problem. Like larrylje said, if you used some software that saves the files to you hdd eg: dvd shrink then yes you can useing your burn app. Sometimes a backup that will not play on your stand-alone player will play useing the drive that wrote the disc. If thats the case, then use an app like nero copy disc and burn it to a better quality proven media.
     
  5. jtigerr

    jtigerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for all your help.
     
  6. brobear

    brobear Guest

    Mort
    The jtigerr's problem was solved, too fast on the write speed. larrylje covered the alternatives fairly well.

    jtigerr
    The only alternative is burning new copies from a good source as was mentioned. Bad discs = bad source.
     
  7. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Oh ok guess I was out of bounds. Tryin to help.
     
  8. brobear

    brobear Guest

    Mort
    Not out of bounds. No way you could have known unless you'd seen the other threads. I just happened to catch them. They could have been incorporated. I won't go as far as saying double posting. It's about as close as you can come without doing it though. LOL
     
  9. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Thanks for the info brobear, I thought maybe my bad.
     
  10. nares213

    nares213 Guest

    so you can not with any program back up previously backed up disks even if they work fine?
     
  11. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yes you can
     
  12. deadcat

    deadcat Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if the discs work fine, then backup away. if the discs are freezing and have errors, get a new original and make a copy from that.
    Use decrypter iso read-iso write or nero copy disc to make a backup of a backup
     
  13. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Decrypter will sometimes read a bad disc enough to get a second copy. I'm not saying it will work but worth a try. I would burn it to a RW just in case. It all depends on how bad the first copy really is.

    Jerry
     
  14. brobear

    brobear Guest

    I'd say when they're acting like that, it's time for a new backup from a good source and not the copy causing the problem.
     
  15. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @nares213

    You never asked if you could backup a good backup. Yes you can back up a good backup, but if the backup is freezing and skipping best solution for that is get the orignal DVD and back it up again with that.
     
  16. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Backing up a GOOD copy is as simple as using any disc copy program you might have. Your first copy is already compressed and decrypted so any program will read it.

    Jerry
     
  17. brobear

    brobear Guest

    I'm starting to be amazed at how often "how do I copy a copy" pops up.
     
  18. Gamerover

    Gamerover Guest

    i have the same problem backing up disc copys
     
  19. deadcat

    deadcat Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what problem???if you already have a GOOD backup use it to make your copy. If you have a BAD backup use it as a coaster and use your original to make a copy
     
  20. brobear

    brobear Guest

    Nero Express, part of the Nero suite, has Copy DVD. [bold]The name says it all.[/bold] Other recording suites, Roxio, CopytoDVD, and Pinnacle come to mind that have the same function.
     

Share This Page